From the old to the new pants

Good news – my mother can leave the hospital! In the end back home 🙂

Meanwhile I was helping my niece to make a new pants using her old pants she loved as a pattern.

She took pieces apart and using  waxed copypaper she has made patterns.

Making a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by step

Next she transfer the patterns onto a fabric. We have bought this fabric in Textilmar in Gdynia. Don’t go there close to the closing time – too many fabrics you would like to touch, look closer – but not so friendly service. You are forced to go out as they start to telling you they have no time and switching off the lights. This way you are not able to see the fabrics at all and it is really better to leave.
Maybe better to buy in the online shop. Or I will visit only the branch in Wejherowo – there is a very customer friendly service.

Another funny things has happened – which reminded me old times – when I was buying this waxed copy paper. Normally I am buying this paper per pack. One pack consists of two paper sheets  – and in Poland they sell it per sheet of paper. Country specific 🙂

Anyway – I have learned my niece how to use this paper and she is very enthusiast about it. It is maybe not so time-saving but it is making the copying of patterns easier.

Making a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by step  Making a new pent from an old one - step by stepMaking a new pent from an old one - step by step

Well… she has picked up a little difficult fabric for her first pants – it is a knitted fabric leather look. Really difficult to sew – her sewing machine not always wants to pick up the fabric. Positive aspect – I am learning her how to use hand-stitch and which one to overcome this difficulties. The zipper needed to be hand-stitched.

Today we check and make some fitting corrections. Then we will make a waistband.

On Saturday I will spend with my mother and on Sunday I will travel to the Netherlands – back home.

And back to sewing… 🙂

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Online Sewing Class

7 thoughts on “From the old to the new pants

  1. I just saw this post, a little late. But I just want to say how nice it is that young people are still interested in sewing things for themselves, instead of buy,buy,buy!

    1. I was glad I could still spend some days with her at her own place. She needs a lot of help at this moment but she has to do all herself. It is not easy with her heart issues … it will take longer then she would wish…
      It was nice feeling showing my niece few sewing techniques. She has so many ideas… I had to leave and she is now working – so not so many time to sew. I hope to see a picture with a final result.

Comments are closed.