French Jacket V8804 – accomplished

After few months of slaw sewing the French jacket is officially finished.

I was waiting for some free time and time during the day to take few pictures – and here it is – my finished French jacket. This ‘try-out’ version turns out well. I like the fit of the jacket, the construction, the process. Now I have to check how it will be in practice – wearing it. I have this jersey (which serves on the picture as a cover of a dress-form) to make a top to go with this jacket. I have as well a woven fabric for a dress. Well, I have to make few things to wear with this jacket – great opportunity to renew my wardrobe.

French Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point Tailor

The buttonholes went great. I had no issues with them. The hand-stitching was very relaxing.

French Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point Tailor

The bust darts and back-shoulder darts were eased and steamed – love this method. I will try to use it in a skirt as well (under condition I will make skirt from wool woven fabric).

French Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point TailorFrench Jacket V8804 - couture jacket - couture by Red Point Tailor

I have to look for a little heavier chain next time.

DSC_0022

I am very pleased with the final result. My main lesson learned is – have all in place before you start working on a jacket – especially lining and trim!

Working on the jacket is time-consuming, but you work with great attention to details. I did not mind all hand stitching – it was relaxing.

Yes – I am ready to work on the next one.

If you leave in the Netherlands and you would like to have one – just let me know – or go to http://www.redpointtailor.nl.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

Craftsy Sales

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to French Jacket V8804 – accomplished

  1. Pingback: Vintage, Schmintage; faking vintage looks with modern patterns | Jet Set Sewing

  2. becki chitwood says:

    Totally gorgeous! Perfect fabric and trim.
    Your shoulders look really impressive, great pattern matching.
    and ditto what everyone else is saying, your construction and fit are impeccable!

  3. black label says:

    { Gorgeous } { Gorgeous } { Gorgeous }

  4. What a stunning result! Well done!

  5. Looks perfect, well done you!

  6. I made it!! says:

    On my! That is just beautiful!

  7. amalitar says:

    Wow, it turned out beautiful! And that fabric for the coordinating top is a perfect match, well found. Let us know if it is as comfortable to wear as a cardigan. That will be one more reason for me to finally make one for myself too.

  8. it is indeed a beautiful jacket and I too really like the two toned lining, even if you didn’t quite plan it that way. You have a lovely way with fabric and a wonderful eye. I bet you get lots of compliments.

    • Thanks! I see it will go well with casual jeans (which I have to sew in the end) as well as more classic – a dress or a skirt. Just do it! It is not so difficult – just take a time 🙂

Comments are closed.