Summer Top – one of many?

This project is accomplished – summer top based on Marfy 1913 is ready and I am wearing it today.

It is made of viscose crepe and as it is sheer I decided to put the very fine viscose lining at the front. I am glad I did it.

I have finished the seams with a false French seam. If you would like to know how to do this you may check this great tutorial by Kate from the Couture Academic.

Marfy Top 1913 Me-Made-May 2014 - false French seams

The back opening turned out nice – it is finished by hand.

Marfy Top 1913 Me-Made-May 2014 - back opening

After I attached the collar to the neckline,

Marfy Top 1913 Me-Made-May 2014

I hand under-stitched the under collar.
I did not put elastic to the hem line. I can always do this later but at this moment I like it loose.

Marfy Top 1913 Me-Made-May 2014 - ready - Red Point Tailor couture atelier

 

It is versatile top – it could be wear with elegant skirt or just jeans. I am sure it will be one of many I will make – I have enough fabric in my stash for it. I will probably try to make one without the collar.

This top was on my list since I have seen Sandra’s version from Sewist Stitch.
On the website of Leisa from A Challenging Sew you may view Marfy tops made by others – lot’s of inspirations!

The next project is a simple silk skirt. I have bought this silk recently at the Stoffenspektakel.

silk 100% grey for skirt - self drafted - Red Point Tailor couture atelier

 

I had a big plans about this silk skirt untill I put a pattern pieces on it. It appeared it is just enough for a simple skirt. I will event have some issues to make a waistband – I will have to improvise.

silk 100% grey for skirt - self drafted - Red Point Tailor couture ateliersilk 100% grey for skirt - self drafted - Red Point Tailor couture atelier

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

Craftsy Learn it Make it
Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale

11 thoughts on “Summer Top – one of many?

  1. Kat

    Thank you for the ping back and I’m thrilled you used the tute! Your top is stunning and the fabric is beautiful 🙂 Well done, as per usual!

    1. Welcome! I did not need to use the tutorial – I know this method. I had some questions thogh and I find your tutorial clear and helpful. No need to make my own 🙂

  2. margueritedesigns

    I love this top Beata – I think it’s the fabric that does it – reminds me of swimming goldfish.

  3. That fabric is so pretty! So frustrating when you don’t have enough fabric. I wonder if you could add a bottom panel to the skirt in contrast so you will have enough for a waistband…or overlay a bit of that lovely top fabric on something pale to contrast and compliment the skirt fabric in a bottom panel…Looking forward to seeing what you do.

Comments are closed.