Coat – the next sewing project on the list

Some time ago I have bought a black cashmere/wool fabric for a coat. I have a dream coat on my mind with:

  • high waist
  • pleat at the back
  • collar

souds not so complicated. Meanwhile – 3-4 muslins further – I am still trying to find the best fit.

Vogue pattern, V8626, Marfy pattern, 3177, Marfy, coat, coat pattern, couture

I have made muslin of a coats from Vogue V8626 and Marfy 3177. Eventhough they had features from the above list – I was not impressed.

Vogue pattern, V8626, Marfy pattern, 3177, Marfy, coat, coat pattern, couture

The try garments have showed that the features I was planning to incorporate in my coat in reality look and feel different.

I had other alternatives – Vogue V8933 or Butterck B5823 on my mind (and in my pattern stash).

Vogue Pattern, V8933, Butterick Pattern, B5823, coat, coat pattern, couture

To make myself even more difficult I have just enlarged my stash collection with Vogue patterns V9136 and V1479.

Vogue Patterns and Butterick for a coat

I will make muslin for some of them to check how they look on me, how they fit. That’s the added value of making a try model.

The coat will be a perfect addition to my professional wardrobe essencials.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

PS. Keep Up To Date –  subscribe to newsletter here

PS2. I would be grateful if you would LIKE my new FB page RPT Couture Endeavours– THANKS! 🙂

RPT Couture, couture, quality, patterns, notions, sewing, handmade, sewing own clothes, how to

5 thoughts on “Coat – the next sewing project on the list

    1. That feeling … If I go to the shops it will be even more difficult to make a choice.
      I keep at these 4 patterns.
      Success with your choice and coat!
      What kind of fabric are you going to use?

Comments are closed.