Ever wanted to make your own ‘Little French Jacket’?

From time to time the sew-alongs are organised to sew a ‘Little French Jacket’ following the couture techniques of Chanel.

If you ever thought of making one – just go for it! I would suggest to follow instructions from – Couture Sewing – The Couture Cardigan Jacket by Claire Shaeffer though.

Couture Sewing – The Couture Cardigan Jacket by Claire Shaeffer!

There are more other resources which I listed in this blog.

If you think Vogue patterns are too complicated I would suggest to use this Simplicity 4991 pattern. It is very simple pattern – no darts, only one-piece sleeves, and you can skip collar as well.

I used this pattern making this blue jacket from boiled wool. The jacket is very comfortable and I am thinking of making a new one day.

Simplicity 4991 patternexclusive handmade by Red Point Tailor jacket Simplicity 4991 boiled wool www.redpointtailor.com

Meanwhile having still the piece of cotton bland tweed in my stash I decided to use it to make a jacket based on this Simplicity 4991 for my mother.


This time I did not use the quilting technique – I used couture techniques. To keep the loose woven fabric in place I underlined it with silk organza. I still have to check if it fits my mom… that’s why I did not make a buttonholes yet.

Jacket based on Simplicity 4991 pattern

As you probably have noticed I have skipped the collar and I lined it completely.

Jacket based on Simplicity 4991 pattern - back view Jacket based on Simplicity 4991 pattern - side view

Sewing this jacket I had a feeling  I will use this pattern again.
It is really wonderful to start sewing again!

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ever wanted to make your own ‘Little French Jacket’?

  1. Thanks for the book suggestion. I have been looking at that one, but couldn’t decide. You have a very pretty fabric there!

  2. Hi Beata! Susan Khalje’s about to launch her “Little French Jacket” video course. I’m really looking forward to it. Maybe it will inspire me to have another go at a French jacket.

  3. Marianne says:

    Stunning fabric! Your mom is a lucky lady!

  4. ThreadTime says:

    I do love your blue boiled wool version of this jacket. Very classic.

Comments are closed.