I really tried – hard… Quality won!

As a Company Christmas gift I have chosen a gift card from a chain V&D. I was planning to use it one day however a recent not so good news about the V&D (due to difficulties) I though it would be good to buy something now.

I don’t shop very often but having this opportunity I thought – let’s buy pants. I tried about 10 pair of pants from different labels… no, no, no… I really tried… I spend about 2 hours… no, no, no…

Majority of them fitted so badly that I just could not do this. Secondly looking at the prices – knowing how much time it takes to make one pair of pants – I just could not do this.

“The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten” – Benjamin Franklin

I had in my mind pictures from the recently broadcasted documentary on the Dutch TV – De Slag Om Klerewereld. The three films showing reality behind fashion industry and labels after the Rana Plaza disaster – where 1200 workers died.

Even though it is Dutch programme lot’s of interviews are in English so you can easy watch it – I really recommend it.

– Part one – The miracle of disposable fashion (Het wonder van de wegwerpmode) – De Slag Om Klerewereld
– Part two – Prices Battle in Bangladesh (Prijzenslag in Bangladesh) – Prijzenslag in Bangladesh
– Part Three – Cotton Top Sellers (Katoenknallers) – Katoenknallers

DeSlagOmKlerenwereldScreenshot from NPO website

Unfortunately buying expensive clothes do not guarantee that it is done in sustainable way. The film shows new, good equipped sewing company buildings – empty! It is too expensive to carry on production there. The production is sub-contracted to cheaper companies – you know which ones…

You may as well watch the 5-parts film made by 3 Norwegian fashionistas in Cambodia –SWEATSHOP – DEADLY FASHION (the link is to the films with English subtitles).

SWEATSHOP - DEADLY FASHIONScreenshot from the website

That’s why I really support initiatives of Sarah Gunn from Goodbye Valentino or Courtney from Project 333 –  mentioning only few of them. I will have to find other gifts…

Is it possible to change consumers’ shopping behaviour? Will fashion industry change? What we could do more?

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in Something completely different and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I really tried – hard… Quality won!

  1. Well said! I have seen the movies with the three young people. Such a sad situation.

Comments are closed.