Marfy Jacket 3350 – fabrics

While searching my fabric stash for a fabric I could use to make the jacket based on  Marfy 3350 pattern I came across these two ones.

The blue/white fabric is loose woven wool bland.

The blue/white fabric is loose woven wool bland for Marfy 3350 jacket

This brownish one is linen bland. It is more stiff than the above one.

The brownish fabric is linen bland for Marfy 3350 jacket

Looking at the qualities and properties of both fabrics I think I will go for the blue/white one. It is softer and looking at my wardrobe – I have much more combination possibilities.

But everything depends on the amount of fabric – I have to check if I have enough of this blue/white fabric to make it the way I want.

The brownish one will become either a dress or jacket/skirt combination.

Meanwhile the book Couture Sewing: The Couture Skirt: more sewing secrets from a Chanel collector by Claire Shaeffer has arrived.  It went so fast!

Something is telling me that this will be my next project … soon.

Which one would you advice?

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, Wardrobe essentials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marfy Jacket 3350 – fabrics

  1. fittingissues says:

    Both fabrics are great. I wonder if the striped effect would show to greater advantage with this particular pattern. The blue and white is lovely but the lines of the pattern may get lost behind it.

  2. jay says:

    Beautiful blue and white fabric!

  3. You are brave to match those plaids again!

Comments are closed.