Another couture challenge

While waiting for Couture Sewing: The Couture Skirt: more sewing secrets from a Chanel collector by Claire Shaeffer (it should arrived within few days!)

and watching the Great British Sewing Bee (love it!) …

GreatBritishSewinBee

I decided to give the pants a break and work on my new couture challenge – Jacket by Marfy 3350. It is a short semi-fitted jacket with 3/4 sleeves that form a square yoke. I will try to make it from a boucle or tweed. I am sure I can find something in my fabric stash.

Marfy 3350 Jacket

You may order this pattern by writing to the Marfy office – it is not available on-line as pre-cutting pattern yet.

Just to make sure the pattern will fit I started with making a proof model.

New couture challenge - Jacket by Marfy 3350 - working on muslin New couture challenge - Jacket by Marfy 3350 - working on muslin

One of the reason why it is so good to make a muslin – besides checking the fit – is to try the sewing order. Especially with the Marfy patterns where there is no instruction.

New couture challenge - Jacket by Marfy 3350 - working on muslin - checking a pocket New couture challenge - Jacket by Marfy 3350 - working on muslin - checking underarm seamsNew couture challenge - Jacket by Marfy 3350 - working on muslin - ready

I still have to try it properly but so far it looks and fit ok. The only thing I am not so sure about is the length of the sleeves. The sleeves are 3/4 length – something I am not used to it.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

PS. From my Pool so far the GBSB is winning 

Banner_GBA_PlaytheBANK

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another couture challenge

  1. fabrickated says:

    I really like the way the sleeves go across. Do you think you will use something with a stripe in it?

  2. You are off to a good start! I am sure your jacket will look fabulous! I don’t know if I could do a pattern without instructions. I guess I could get a clue from another jacket pattern’s instructions? I dunno?

  3. Marianne says:

    Beautiful pattern, Beata! Are the sleeves 3/4 or bracelet length? I think bracelet length would be perfect for you, think of the opportunity to make a matching Red PointTailor glass bracelet!

Comments are closed.