Pants, Pants, Pants… Lesson Learned

It was difficult to resist when I have seen a pants in a shop which fitted me quite ok. But I knew I have one waiting for me at home … to be finished. It was difficult decision to put it back on a rack.

From other side it was not so good decision to start on this project at the end of 2014. It is easy to get frustrated.

This McCall’s pattern M6440 pants looks so good on this model – so easy – so tempting…

M6440 (1)

After cutting the pattern pieces from the fashion fabric (stretch jeans) I sew all pieces with very loose stitch. I put it on hoping git will fit perfectly. Well… I probably do not have to add that it was not a success.

It took me few days of fitting to get acceptable result. So it was time to mark all adjustments on the pants and rip all seams.

Working on a pants - making adjustments

Next I transfer all changes on paper pattern pieces.

Working on a pants - transferring adjustments to paper patterns Working on a pants - making adjustments on paper form Working on a pants - making adjustments on paper form

This adjustment will be the most challenging…

Working on a pants - making adjustments on paper form - crotch line

I am curious if this adjusted version meets my expectations.

Next time I won’t start difficult/complicated project just before the end of the year. What’s your experience with difficult – frustration leading projects?

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pants, Pants, Pants… Lesson Learned

  1. Stella says:

    I have recently bought this pattern, too, for the same reasons as you: it looks so easy. Needless to say, I am not the same shape or height as the model! I shall be very interested to see your finished result and any tips you might pass on along the way. I love your blog, by the way!

    • Hi Stella, Thanks for your kind words! The patter is great and I hope I will make something out of it. I am exactly as you said – not this shape nor hight as the model. So far – this first version is not so good. When I stand like a model on a cover of the package – I could accept it. But then it would look odd standing only in such pose or walking like this…
      I will try to put as much as possible in the next post on pants🙂.

  2. Oh I haven’t sewn myself some pants since I made my first pair many years ago when I was in high school. Back then everything fit me! I have taken Sandra Betzina’s Pant Fitting course though so I have hopes for the jeans that I am working on now. I wish you luck with your’s!

    • This is real pain… I am very frustrated and what’s more it keeps me from moving further to another project.
      I have followed the Sandra Betzina’s Pant Fitting class on craftsy but it was too chaotic for me. I think I will have to find some fitting friend here.
      Success with your jeans – I am looking forward to see it!

    • I do find that she talks about every single fitting problem that there is, same with Joi Mahon’s fitting classes. Finally I just watched the whole thing and then watched only the parts that apply to me and tried those. I also had help from my daughter with measuring places I couldn’t reach – well except for that time I made a the bodice shell, I measured that and had to re-do it! My daughter helped with pulling and pinching the garment after I made it. It is sometimes difficult to get this first garment done all by yourself. Lynne Maynard’s course was even more so though, I thought. She cut and filled in the gaps with fabric strips on her model’s fitting shell. So I would end up using her course to fit someone else, not myself. It couldn’t be done on yourself at all! Good luck to you!

    • Good for you! I have to find a fitting buddy – definitely. Good luck!

  3. Tia Dia says:

    Yup. Pants are a PITA to fit. I’m sure yours will look wonderful when they’re finished. As for beginning difficult projects at the end of the year… it doesn’t really bother me that much, as I will often start something time-consuming and put it aside to do something else for a while. Over the end of the year doesn’t really make any difference – unless it’s a January deadline!

    • True, generally I don’t mind start difficult, time consuming projects – whatever period of time … but pants are different cup of tea… I found it frustrating. I will need to find sewing buddy to help with fitting.
      Deadlines are always ‘stimulating’😉

Comments are closed.