Pants, pants, pants….

Having enough fabric for many pants in my stash and real need for one – I decided to make one without big ado about fitting.

Each time I will check what I can correct to make the next one better. I hope in such way to achieve perfect fitting pants eventually.

I drafted once the pattern of a trousers – but this time I decided to use a patter from my collection. Of course I have enough pants patterns.

I have few stretch jeans fabrics and I decided tom use this McCall’s pattern M6440.

This Misses’ Pants has narrow legs, self faced contoured waistband – I will put zipper in the back seam. Maybe I will put one (or two) pocket in waistband with a zipper.

M6440 (1)

This pattern is so promising that I decided fused interfacing under the paper form. I hope it will stay longer and I will be able to use it longer. Honestly I was first thinking about fitting such prepared pattern before cutting it from a fashion fabric.

WP_20141210_12_18_31_Pro WP_20141210_13_51_33_Pro

I used my new helpers to keep all in one place – small irons. My DH sand the base to make them smoother.

WP_20141210_12_55_44_Pro WP_20141210_12_55_52_Pro

When checking other patterns I came across this McCall’s pants patter – M6901 – Misses’/Women’s Pants. This is semi-fitted, tapered pants with waistband, side front pockets and front mock fly zipper. It is possible to insert zipper at the back and eliminate pockets. It is designed for medium-weight woven. I have to check if I have this pattern in my stash.

M6901 (3)

Let’s end this year with at least one finish pants.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pants, pants, pants….

  1. Roz says:

    I have both patterns. I’m interested to see how they work for you.

  2. Het Machien says:

    Oh wauw, looks very classy! Love the small irons for pattern weights🙂

  3. Good luck with the pants making! I have a Sandra Betzina pants pattern that I’ve been meaning to make. I hope I get to it next year…

  4. I think you will do a lovely job! Looking forward to seeing them!

  5. ThreadTime says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing how these work for you. I also have that pattern in my stash, but haven’t made it yet.

    • Nice to hear from you. How’s your Christmas preparations going on?
      I hope for fast progress. As my camera is broken I had to user phone so pictures will not be so great.

    • ThreadTime says:

      Christmas is beginning to shape up. There will be more bought gifts than homemade though. Luckily we aren’t a family focused on gifts (Thank Goodness!).

      Good think phone photos are as good as they are! You always do a great job on your posts and I know the coming posts will be the same.
      Merry Christmas!

    • Great to here!
      Merry Christmas to you and your family! Beata

Comments are closed.