Making something for my shoes – week-end DYI

Going back to reality after very short holidays is very difficult. I am sure it is a very common feeling. Fortunately the rainy weather with gray days is helping in this process.

Making a small fast things is helping as well. So I decided to make a shoe inserts for my pumps. I have already had one pair which I find very useful – it keeps my shoes in shape.

I use it as an example to make a pattern. The making process is very simple.

Shoes inserts - making pattern, pattern making, canvas, DYI

I used canvas as a basic fabric. In this case I use some pieces I had over after making few muslins.

Shoes inserts - making pattern, pattern making, canvas, DYIShoes inserts - making pattern, pattern making, canvas, DYI

I used a band/ribbon from my stash. I have to admit it is a good project to accommodate scraps/left overs from other projects.

DSC_0022

I was making 12 inserts at the same time so to speed up the sewing process I was putting one insert after another under the foot. I did not sew back at the end (I do it very seldom) I have just shortened the seam.

DSC_0016

I have trimmed the seams with pinking shears.

DSC_0020

I decided to fill in the inserts not only with the sawdust (left overs after making my Tailor’s hams) but lavendel as well.

DSC_0025

The last step was just to attach the band and sew the lower edge.

DSC_0028DSC_0031

Here they are! READY to use.

DSC_0036

It is very simple and fast project – very rewarding. However when I put all inserts to my shoes I have realised I need more of them! I did not know I have so many shoes…

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

Craftsy Creativebug

Gemstone Beads and Pearls Sale – Save up to 80% on over 2,000 products!  Expiration: September 1, 2014

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale

 

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in DYI by Red Point Tailor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making something for my shoes – week-end DYI

  1. Roz says:

    What a great and useful idea!!!!

Comments are closed.