RPT’s Challenge: Asymmetric Designer Dress by Burda Style

Being busy with my items for  De Cirkel van Kleding project I had not so much time for this Burda Style Member Model Challenge: Asymmetric Designer Dress. The deadline was 2nd July.

I have manged to finish it on time – however I am not so pleased with the final result. I was hesitated if I should submit it so I have checked the Burda Style website for other entries. Firstly I have noticed there were only 2 entries, secondly – the deadline is extended till 16th of July! Still chance to join!

This means I still can make few fixes and better pictures and post this dress on website.

c, Red Point Tailor coouture atelier, Apeldoorn, Couture, high fashion,

Even though this is not my type of dresses I like the idea. I have made it from chiffon (polyester or viscose) and it is underlined with very fine cotton/viscose fabric. What I found strange in this pattern is the shoulder seam and set-in of the sleeve. It is very high. The skirt has no openings/splits – thus not so easy to walk.

If I would make this dress ever again I will for sure adjust the shoulder and make small splits at the side seams of the dress – maybe on the left side with godet, or both sides with inverted pleats. I would probably underlined only top – or I would made simple loos lining.  Firt for sure proper muslin.

Anyone making this dress as well? What’s your experience with this model?

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RPT’s Challenge: Asymmetric Designer Dress by Burda Style

  1. becki says:

    That is going to look fabulous on your, your figure is just perfect for it.
    Its odd to me that you can’t even make those minor changes, they wouldn’t alter the silhouette.
    It would look cute in chiffon, for a special evening.
    Not your usual style, but an interesting look.

    • Thanks a lot. Well, maybe Burda organises this contest to try this pattern. Anyway – I will make changes, others it is really not to wear.
      It was a great project for fabric busting😉

  2. ThreadTime says:

    The dress looks beautiful on you. It has a lovely drape.

  3. It’s kind of a strange design for a contest, but good for you for going for it. If I were making it, I’d do it in a ponte knit with no sleeve to play up the tucks. It’s not really my style, though.

    • Well, I would probably do the sam – If I would make it again. Unfortunately one of the contest rule is – no changes to the pattern… It proves it is not my thing.

Comments are closed.