Strange days

My sewing machine is in a good hands – I hope. I hope it will be fixed soon so I can follow-up on new sewing projects – which piled up. It is strange to see this empty space.

Missing my sewing machine

For a short period I was thinking of buying the new machine -Bernina 580 – but after checking my budget unfortunately it has to wait. I have to earn/save somehow money.

Meanwhile I cut out the Burda Retro Pattern 134 from the blue viscose with black dots.

Burda Retro Pattern 134 in making by Red Point Tailor

I event thought to sew it by hand… and may be I will do if reparation takes more time. Other option I was considering was buying an old Singer with foot pedal. Or just wait.

I still have lock machine – but not so many knit fabrics. While looking for a fabric for the Burda Retro Top I came across a piece of striped jersey so I have made a top – T-shirt.

Top stripes jersey made by Red Point Tailor

I had to make neck-band from 2 shorter pieces – I did not have one long piece any more.

Top stripes jersey made by Red Point Tailor - neck band

Then from other pieces – dark blue jersey – I started to make a try version of a Yellow Tail Camisole 3101 by Disparate Disciplines (free pattern on Craftsy).

a Yellow Tail Camisole 3101 by Disparate Disciplines  -free pattern on Craftsy

This is a knitted top meant to be sew in majority on sewing machine which I hate. So I was testing how to make it using only serger.

The insert on the back went ok. The back top however is too wide so I will have to adjust it next time.

a Yellow Tail Camisole 3101 by Disparate Disciplines back view RSa Yellow Tail Camisole 3101 by Disparate Disciplines back view WS

The front is a little different story. I attached first the folded top front and then I sew in the front insert.

a Yellow Tail Camisole 3101 by Disparate Disciplines front view RS

The next time I will keep the end of the insert longer so I will fold it over to cover the seams. But it is not so bad. I joined front and back and here I had to stop as I did not have fold over elastic, any elastic I could use or enough knitted fabric to make my own band.

I will now patiently waiting for my sewing machine and in the meantime shorten few skirts for my mother.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale
$9.99 per month September Special

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Strange days

  1. sewdooley says:

    I hope you get your machine back soon, running smooth.

  2. Jilly says:

    I was lucky in that I got a loaner when I had my machine repaired. So from what im understanding of this post is that we really do need more than one machine!

  3. It’s terrible to have your machine in the shop. I lost mine for three weeks last fall and didn’t know what to do.

    • Fortunately I had busy week – almost each eventing a meeting. But this long weekend was terrible … next week I will go away for few days. I hope I got good news tomorrow.

  4. ThreadTime says:

    Sorry to hear about your machine. Only someone who loves sewing knows how horrible that is. 😀 I love my Bernina, but they are dear. If you didn’t want the embroidery module, you could drop to the 550 QE and save some dollars. (I have refused to buy a machine with embroidery because I don’t need to add to the list of my hobbies. All I need is something else to spend money on!)

    I’ve also picked up a couple vintage Singers about a year ago. I would really like to talk my daughters in sewing on them. Those things are older than I am and still running…and still able to repair in the event of trouble. Amazing!

    Have fun with your knits.

    • Lucky woman with her Bernina🙂 I will have my one day as well. You are right about embroidery – I don’t need it, that’s why 530 or 580 type. I understood that they are semi-proffesional. They have real bobbing and really solid. I will look for working vintage Singer as well – it brings a lot of memories. I learn sewing on such machine, well, my grandmother learn me (allow to play with it🙂 ).
      Good luck with your quilting projects!

Comments are closed.