DYI Project #2

The inner pocket is installed! I am glad with the final result. My DH is running a lot of projects in Africa and I managed to have Africa at the top.

DYI project by Red Point Tailor, suitcase pocket

I liked working on something different than garments so having still my sewing machine set up with heavy duty threads I decided to make a cover for a portable printer for him as well.

DYI project by Red Point Tailor portable printer cover

This time I decided to use a fabric with all Air Mail envelopes printed on it.
After measuring and drawing the pattern I cut all the pieces from the fabric.

DYI project by Red Point Tailor portable printer cover

I used a flannel blanket as underlining for protection. I was so glad that my sewing machine was doing so good with this all thick fabric …but you know this proverb:

Do no praise the day before sunset….

I have just finished attaching a pocket for a charger and a cable when it refused to work.

The needle did not come up, the thread was twisted around the bobbing and I have a (fortunately) small hole in the fabric now. The needle broken as well eventually.

I have changed needle few times, re-threaded the sewing machine many, many times, corrected the bobbing, clean up the bobbing – NO WAY – NO MORE SEWING!

DYI project #2 has to wait.

Meantime I have prepared the patterns for the Burda retro top 134 – this has to wait as well.

Burda retro top 134 made by Red Point Tailor, couture atelierBurda retro top 134 made by Red Point Tailor, couture atelier

I will cut the pattern from the fabric and make all things by hand as far as I can. I hope till this time my machine will be repaired.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest Instagram

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale
$9.99 per month September Special

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DYI Project #2

  1. I made it!! says:

    Oh no – I hate it when my sewing machine balls up! Makes me really crabby! So sorry!

  2. Renee says:

    Major bummer that your machine broke down! It must be tough to do no sewing this week!

    • I was in tears … it is for the third time. I have busy week so maybe I would not be able to sew at all – but that the broken sewing machine is a reason for this – I hate this. Fortunately I have some hand sewing to do – finishing skirt. And I can cut out other garments.

Comments are closed.