Marfy top 1913 in making

It was busy day. Having my Red Point Tailor shop on Etsy I may participate in different activities organised by Etsy.

In May Etsy organises ETSY school on SEO where we work on improving our shops to be better visible for search engines. I was paired with Richende, who is selling funky, modern bracelets in her shop RichBracelets.

We have got a manual where some of the exercises have to be done together, so yesterday direct after work I went to Enschede (NL) to meet Richende. It was nice to meet other Etsian and exchange experiences.

Afterwords I went to an atelier of Bas van Loo, who is making one of the garments for a BMA challenge. He would like me to make buttons to his garment. I needed a piece of a fabric to find good colour of glass. Nice challenge for me.

After coming home and taking a short break I proceeded with the Marfy 1913 top. I decided to underlined the front with very thin viscose lining – unfortunately I did not have silk china in gray. It feel and look great – much better then trico in skin colour.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

I stay stitched front and back necklines and armholes, made 2 rows of stitches for gathering front neckline.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

The neckband in interlined with silk organza.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

In order to be able to put this top on the opening has to be made at the back.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

I took a piece of the same fabric and put it right side on the right side of the back along the center back line. I sew it close to the center back line.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

 

Next I cut in between the stitching lines and turn it to the wrong side.The edges are turned under so there are no row edges. Now I have to hand stitch the band to the fabric.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

As Meisje was trying to get my attention I had to stop. He possessed me and my ironing bord totally.

Marfy top 1913 in making - Red Point Tailor couture

Hopefully I will be able to finish this top today.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

Craftsy Learn it Make it
Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale
About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata, under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marfy top 1913 in making

  1. Margaret says:

     My ema

  2. I don’t have a cat, but I do have to put my ironing board away when my son comes home from school, because it’s in his room!

Comments are closed.