Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888

We had the rainy weekend with a very few short sun breaks.


To make it bearable I decided to make another dress based on the Vogue pattern V2888 only this time from the cotton I have bought recently during the Stoffenspektakel.

Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888

While I was checking the fabric on RS I have notices these lose threats, which I did not expect with this couture fabric. I hope it will be easy to fix.  Reminder for myself to check fabric RS during purchasing and before cutting.

Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888 - cotton fabric

I cut patterns in a way to have this mistakes at the back.

Next I transfer the patterns on the silk organza and pinned to the fashion fabric. It was a little hassle as I used yellow/white Burda waxed trace paper. It was difficult to see the marks when I lay the silk organza on the fabric.

Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888

Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888

The darts, shoulders and side seams are sewed and now I am catch-stitching the seam allowances. Coming days I will attach the zipper and start working on lining.

This dress will be perfect addition to my wardrobe.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest


50% off Creativebug for Mothers Day

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couture dress #2 Vogue pattern V2888

  1. Lovely fabric, but such a shame about the pulled threads, I wonder if there may be a way of securing each row with a row of almost invisible stitching? Not a fantastic solution😦 My dog would have it unwearable in minutes.

    • This is the weak site of this fabric. I will have to deal with it. I am curious how my cat will influence it and the neibours dog… I will have good reason to make the new one😉

  2. I made it!! says:

    Very nice! Unfortunately I can’t seem to keep light colours – whites, creams – clean! I am always dropping something on myself. A darker colour or a print for me please!

Comments are closed.