First steps towards the next French jacket

This time I make my French jacket based on the new Claire Shaeffer’s Vogue pattern -V8991 (Misses’/Misses’ Petite Jacket).

V8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer

Few days ago I have traced the pattern and made muslin.

V8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer - Muslin - Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier

Being busy with the Vogue V2888 dress I have just in between tested the muslin.

V8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer - Muslin - Red Point Tailor Couture AtelierV8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer - Muslin - Red Point Tailor Couture AtelierV8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer - Muslin - Red Point Tailor Couture AtelierV8991 - Misses'/Misses' Petite Jacket Claire Shaeffer - Muslin - Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier

I will make only small adjustments – my swayed back adjustment and of course I will shorten the sleeves. Then check again.

I was planning to make it from tweed in plaid …

Tweed for Couture French jacket Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier

… however as Julie of Jet Set Sewing in her post More “Faking Vintage Looks with Modern Patterns” noted:

though what they don’t show clearly is that front of the jacket has a center-front panel that curves into the neckline, which may make matching plaids difficult. (If this is your first time at the Chanel jacket rodeo, take my advice and don’t pick a plaid. This post explains why: Chanel Jacket #2: Blood, Sweat and Tears.)

So to make it easer (why not) I decided to use different fabric – I have enough in my stash.

Tweed for Couture French jacket Red Point Tailor Couture AtelierTweed for Couture French jacket Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier

Tweed for Couture French jacket Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier Tweed for Couture French jacket Red Point Tailor Couture Atelier

 

During this weekend I am wearing only top for MMMay’14.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

Craftsy Learn it Make it
Topvintage.nl
Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale
About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata, under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to First steps towards the next French jacket

  1. ksgentry says:

    This is jacket is going to be fabulous! I have always struggled with any of Vogue’s jacket patterns (yeah, I have one in my ‘not completed’ pile). Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

    • Tahnks! I am curious about this patterns. Jackets are not so easy. I have few as UFO’s hidden somewhere as well. That’s why I am making test garments first. It helps.

  2. I love the first fabric, the multicolored one. It looks so fresh. Your muslin looks well fitted. I can see the jacket in that fabric on you.

  3. poldapop says:

    This will be gorgeous. I love the sleeve design. And I love the reddy-orange and the black and while fabric options, What a stash!

    • Thanks… it will be difficult choice to pick up a fabric. I am more for this green one. Well, all of them will be transfer to this type of jackets sooner or later 🙂

  4. I can’t wait to see this pattern made up! It looks so elegant in the picture

  5. ThreadTime says:

    You have some beautiful fabric choices there. I would have to go for the green myself. Love that color and pattern. Have fun!
    Ramona

  6. Marianne K says:

    Love those sleeves!!

  7. I’m looking forward to seeing how the jacket turns out!

Comments are closed.