Picking up a pants project

While being for the second time in Poland and waiting for the news from a hospital I decided to keep me busy by going back to my old project – pants.

In 2013 while working on several muslins I have bought the book – Pants for Real People: Fit and Sew for Any Body by Pati Palmer. Checking the pants pattern in my pattern stash I have noticed I have 2 pants patterns by Palmer/Platsch:

1). Misses’ Pants M5239 – Pants A have front and back darts, back zipper and waistband; However I will probably make fly front. SUGGESTED FABRICS: Gabardine, Wool Crepe, Poplin, Wool, Wool Blends, Medium- weight Linen, Linen Blends.M5239_PalmerPletch_MissesPants

2). Misses’ Pants M6440 – narrow legs, self faced contoured waistband with left side or center back invisible zipper, optional pocket in waistband with invisible zipper; plain hems. Designed for medium-weight woven and stretch woven fabrics – gabardine, wools, double knits, stretch wovens.M6440_PalmerPletsch_MissesPants

I decided to give them a try.

Fabric market–April 2013 Apeldoorn - stretch jeansFabric market–April 2013 Apeldoorn - stretch jeans

Having in my fabric stash stretch fabrics (jeans) – which I have bought thinking of making pants – I decided to start with the M6440 pattern.


Lets face this challenge!

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

Craftsy Sales

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Picking up a pants project

  1. Keep us (me) posted as you go through the process of making them. I would really like to see as much of the process as you can show us (me).

  2. I made it!! says:

    Nice patterns. The first one has lots of choices! I am looking forward to seeing the posts on the construction. (I need the help for when I do mine!)

  3. ThreadTime says:

    I know it’s going to shock you to know I have both of these patterns in my stash … and that they were on the short list of a pants project. Unfortunately I have the McCalls 5239 in the wrong size!

    I’ll be watching to see how these work out for you.

    Prayers for your mom. Take care,

    • I am truly shocked!😉 Pity about McCall 5239 – which size do you need? We could thinkg about something …
      the surgery was successful and my mom is almost home🙂 Thanks!
      All the best, Beata

    • ThreadTime says:

      Unfortunately, I’m an 18 or 20! Ugh. Trying to do something about that, but takes a little time.

      So glad about your mom. I’ll continue to pray for her recovery. And for you as you’re traveling back and forth!
      Take care, Ramona
      (Love your name, by the way.)

    • I don’t believe it! You are looking so great! Unfortunately I have only in this ‘other’ sizes … did you check ready garment measurements?

    • ThreadTime says:

      I wear a 14 in American slacks. I’ve worked from my measurements and I’ve tried to measure some of my favorite slacks and work between those. Fitting is getting a little better for me, but it is still my main challenge.

      My recent slacks (the brown wool flannel) were made on a size 20. They seem to fit through the waist, but I think they’re big though the hip. It’s hard to tell because they are a pleated, loose fit. Once I have the lining and the waistband on, we will see the true test! 😀

Comments are closed.