Taylor’s Ham project accomplished

Long ago I have bought a Tailor’s ham – small one, however I always wanted to have a bigger one – let’s say more professional. It is much better to use a curved mold when pressing curved areas of clothing, such as darts, sleeves, cuffs, collars, or waistlines. We all know that pressing on a curved form allows a garment better to fit body contours. And we all know that professional Tailor’s hams are quite expensive.

Thanks to fantastic bloggers community I came across few instructions and patterns to make own Tailor ham. Veanna from sosewlovely has great instruction and 2 patterns for Freestanding Tailor Ham Pattern and the Tailor Whale Pattern.

For my Tailor’s ham I used a pattern from the August/September 2012 issue of Vogue Patterns magazine, page 24.
I had enough wool and cotton fabric. I decided to make inner part form a thinner cotton fabric, and the outer part from cotton and wool.

 Tailor's ham couture attelier


The next time I will leave the opening on the side – more straight part – not at the curved upper side.

 Tailor's ham couture sawdust atelier supplies

I have bought the sawdust at the pet supply shop. I was breaking my head on this for a while and then my DH just came with this idea – if you don’t have rabbits or hamsters you don’t think about such simple solutions.

It is important to have a vacuum cleaner nearby when filling in the Tailor’s ham with the sawdust. And son’t sneeze!

 Tailor's ham couture supplies atelier

I pressed the sawdust firmly and closed the opening. After cleaning the rests of the sawdust I first attached the thicker cotton to the inner part. I pulled it tight around and sew by hand. Then I molded the woolen part and  sew by had as well.

 Tailor's ham couture supplies atelier

As the wool moulds easy it is unnecessary to make any darts – which would only disturb while pressing the curves.
I am very pleased with the final results. I will make the Freestanding Tailor’s Ham next.
Now I have to ask my DH to make a stand… it should not be difficult – he is a very handyman.

Actually this Tailor’s ham could be a great present. I think I will give this first exemplar to my niece. I have enough wool to make another one for myself.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Magical Mystery sate at ModCloth

Craftsy Sales

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Atelier and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taylor’s Ham project accomplished

  1. maryfunt says:

    Loved this one and great tip for wood hip source. I would have never thought of pet store. I’m planning on making a large ham for tailoring. I saw one on a European tailoring site but it was crazy expensive. Thanks and happy holidays.

    • I was looking for a Tailor’s ham for a long time as well. I have bought one in the UK webshop – small ome. Unfortunately nothing left over from my grandfather’s workshop – PITY.
      Have a nice New Year day and all the best in the New Year!

  2. Lizzie says:

    You did a great job. One of my all-time lucky thrift finds was a ham. The salesclerk didn’t even know what it was!

    • I was looking for such Tailor’s ham for a long time – I was so sorry nothing left over from my grandfather.
      I am sure a lot of people did not know the old good tailor’s equipments.

  3. ThreadTime says:

    Thanks for this post! I have plans to make a ham and wooden pressing tools. The sawdust was throwing me for a loop as well. I never thought of the pet store! Beautiful job on yours.

    • Great! The sawdust was keeping me away from this project for few weeks … I was searching for all kind of copmapies working with wood… and the solution is so easy🙂
      Success with your project!

  4. Interesting… I’ve never thougth of adding a wool layer after sewing…. I’ve made the one I shared a FREE pattern for on my blog sewing together a cotton and a wool side…
    Hugs from Italy,
    MammaNene @ SergerPepper.com

    • I think I have seen your tutorial as well. Well… by attaching the outer layers later separately you will achive better effect. You can better shape the ham – less wrinckles.
      Best wishes from the Netherlands🙂
      Have a great Xmas days and all the best in the New Year!

Comments are closed.