Count down to spring

It was strange year and the next one 2014 will not be easier – still seeing McCall’s patterns for spring make me smiling. Thinking of spring, sunny, warm, long days is what I need – these grey, short days are really nothing for me. So I started to count down to spring.

I browse through the new Early Spring McCall’s patterns collection I can say only one thing – SIPLICITY. There are not so many (maybe even not at all) new ideas.

M6883 Misses' Dresses and Slip

M6883 Misses’ Dresses and Slip – using nice fabric – e.g. lace – doesn’t require complicated cut. Made of light cotton or silk it would be perfect for first spring warm days.

M6884 Misses' Dresses

M6884 Misses’ Dresses – another wrap dress with interesting split in front. Simple and easy to make. Made of stretch velvet or nice viscose it would be very elegant.

M6890 Misses' Dresses

M6890 Misses’ Dresses – it is nice to see few patterns for real women. Very easy cut with great effect.

M6893 Misses' Dresses

M6893 Misses’ Dresses – this dress has few possibilities

M6901 Misses'/Women's Pants

M6901 Misses’/Women’s Pants – this simple trousers pattern by Palmer/Pletsch is the most interesting  pattern for me. However I think I will better draft new pattern by myself.

Let’s wait for the next spring/summer patterns from BMV.

And we should not forget to make at least one garment in a colour of the 2014 year – PANTONE 18-3224 Radiant Orchid

Pantone colour of the year 2014 Radian Orchid

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Magical Mystery sate at ModCloth

Craftsy Sales

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in Fashion Trends, RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Count down to spring

  1. Anita McAdam says:

    Hi RedPointTailor. Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a spectacular new year. 🙂

  2. I made it!! says:

    You are wise to think of next spring now. It usually takes me so long to make something. I start it this winter (still working on my pea coat) and end up wearing it next winter! I shall try to do better! 😄. I like the white lace dress, maybe in a beige – white and me don’t go together so well!

    • I know what you mean… I have a coat waiting to be made. I have almost finished muslin to check the fit.
      I still have a lot of nbright fabrics to be turned into a dresses – perfect for sping/summer🙂
      The white lace dress is nice – you may play with fabrics, colours – imagine black underdress and golden lace outer dress …
      Or play with sheer outer fabric with flower patterns and one nice colour under…. a lot of ideas🙂

  3. I like the wrap dress (6884), but view D looks like it would be difficult to sit down in and still stay covered. Maybe with a pair of skinny brocade capri pants underneath for a modesty and a 60s look.

Comments are closed.