Weekend full of handstitching

I know I have already said this but as my French jacket progressing I will repeat it – I love my jacket.

The trims have arrived and now the trim is attached to the sleeves and the edges of the jacket.

Working on French jacket attaching the trim Working on French jacket attaching the trim to the sleevesWorking on French jacket attaching the trim to the sleevesWorking on French jacket attaching the trim finishing bodice

The jacket needs now the buttonholes – I hope the silk buttonholes threads will arrive this week. I have just pinned the sleeves to the bodice to check it – it looks great. If only I could take 2 days off I would be able to finish it…

Ok – in the meantime I will follow up on my Marfy 3177 coat and trousers for my mother.

working on coat based on Mary pattern 3177 making muslinworking on trousers from knit fabric for my mother

It is getting colder so it would be fine to have a coat.
I hope to finish the trousers for my mother before she comes back home from a hospital.

The hat I have made for has arrived and she liked it very much. I will take a picture of her wearing it when I go to visit her.

Hat for my mother - avaialbe as made-to-order at redpointtailor.com

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Magical Mystery sate at ModCloth

“Join Craftsy in supporting seniors through Wish of a Lifetime – when you purchase any Craftsy class or donate directly to the cause – read more here.”Give Crafty class as a gift and help seniors

Creative Video Workshops on Creativebug.com Creative Video Workshops on Creativebug.com Creative Video Workshops on Creativebug.com

Patternmaking Basics - skirt sloper - new Craftsy class
Patternmaking Basics: The Skirt Sloper

from: Craftsy.com Patternmaking Basics - bodice sloper - new Craftsy class
Patternmaking Basics: The Bodice Sloper

from: Craftsy.com

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Weekend full of handstitching

  1. I love the hat what you did for you mom.

  2. Pingback: Planning is vital but… | Red Point Tailor

  3. Pingback: It will be even more hand stitching | Red Point Tailor

  4. grtescp says:

    you are busy on so many fronts! I think I need a month to catch up on all of my sewing projects!

    • Well… looking at the pile of fabrics it will take some time before I catch up on all my projects. I am trying to do as much as possible before I go to my mom after her operation. Especially I would like to finish trousers and a jacket for her.

  5. maryfunt says:

    Love seeing your jacket progress. Good luck with the buttonholes. In addition to Claire Schaeffer’s books, Vintage Couture Tailoring by Thomas von Nordheim is a great resource and has some of the best instructions for hand worked buttonholes. I look forward to your next post.

    • Thanks! Yes, this all books are in my sewing library🙂 The Vintage Couture Tailoring by Thomas von Nordheim is really great book (even better then Clarie Schaeffer) and the instruction hwo to make the hand buttonholes is really good. I am making my buttonholes by hand often – before I had no sewing machine which could make it so there was no other way. Besides – I like it and I don’t see as a burden. I like the Chanel way of hand buttonholes where the wrong side is covered – genius!
      I have just bought 2 jacket vintage patterns to make them fully using couture techniques. I like the way they are constructed.
      I really love your jacket! I am lookinf foward to see more of yoru creations🙂

  6. Marianne says:

    Your jacket is progressing nicely! Where did you find the darker trim? Still undecided whether I should go for burgundy or one of the other colors in my fabric. Wherever I go, I’m taking a piece of my fabric. You never know when you’ll bump into the right one!

  7. ThreadTime says:

    Love the trim you chose. Jacket is looking lovely. Can’t wait to see it finished.😀

  8. Carolyn says:

    Your jacket is looking fabulous! Such divine fabric 🙂

Comments are closed.