I like my French jacket

I decided to change the side panels to the red lining. It looks much better now. I will put the stripes from the same lining along the hemline, centre front line and neckline. And the hem of the sleeves of course.

French jacket progress - joining quilted pattern pieces and hand sewing lining

All seams in lining are hand stitched now – the whole jacket start to look as jacket. I like it.

French jacket progress - joining quilted pattern pieces

I am checking different kind of trim.

Galon in vele kleuren Spaans galon in vele kleuren

I have just ordered 2 from the Fournituren.nl (in bordeaux colour) and if these will appear not good I will visit a haberdashery shop in Arnhem – they have really lot’s of trims. I am sure I will find something.
The Chanel Legend exhibition gave me some extra ideas about the trims so I can always try to make my own.

Give Any Class - Craftsy classes

Till the trim arrive I will start working on a trousers and a jacket for my mother.
She was at the hospital for almost two weeks recently and she is going again this week. She has to follow special treatment to be able to be operated. At this moment her heart is in not so great shape. I was hoping she will spend Xmas with us however at this moment nothing is sure. Let’s wait and see.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I like my French jacket

  1. Pingback: Weekend full of handstitching | Red Point Tailor

  2. Lizzie says:

    I like it better too.

    I hope your mother starts to feel better.

  3. Looks lovely. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! Did you consider making fringe trim from the fabric or selvedge?

    • I enjoy the whole process! I love couture – it relaxes me🙂.
      Making a fringe trim is one of the options, selvege is not so nice so – not this time. I can crochet something from nicer yarns… so many possibilities🙂

  4. becki says:

    I love the change, your fabric and lining combination looks fabulous. You are really going to love this jacket!

  5. It’s looking beautiful. I aspire to try myself one day.

  6. Karen says:

    You are so correct – your jacket is really taking shape! It’s always good to have a sewing project (or projects) to ease your mind when a loved one is ill. Hope your mother’s health improves.

  7. Thewallinna says:

    Show it off on our Flickr group🙂

  8. ThreadTime says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your mother and wish her the best.

    Love the way your jacket is looking and the change in lining. I was working on sleeves of mine last night. Still a long way to go.

    • Thanks! Coming weeks will show what are the perspectives. It is always somewhere in my thoughts. I will go to Poland for a week or more after the operation (or maybe even earlier).

      Your jacket is fabulous. Tomorrow I would like to make buttonholes (Chanel way) and join the shoulders. Then prepare sleeves and edges for a trim.
      I enjoy the whole process – I can’t wait to start the next one🙂

  9. Renee says:

    Claire Shaeffer is talking about lapped lining in her book. Is this what your are doing? I love the red detail on the inside!

    • Hi Renee, I am using a joined method. Claire Shaeffer describes 2 methods. I am doing the one when you join 2 edges of the lining – she calls it ‘kissing’ method🙂 I will use lapped method in sleeves.
      I have to do this as other ways I would see the fashion fabric seams – the white lining is a little transparnt. I found the ‘lapped’ method easier.
      I am glad I have changed this side piece to red🙂

  10. joza jagodic says:

    you are very right to change the lining, the red one looks so much better!!! All though it was probably a lot of work you will not regret this, I’m shure.

Comments are closed.