Make sure to have all in place before you start working on a French Jacket

Preparation is crucial –  it is half way, as my mom used to say. It is so true.

I stared to work on my French jacket as a try garment. I was not so sure about the fabric but the more I look at it and see the jacket coming to the end I like it more and more.
At the same time I am more and more angry on myself for the shortcuts.

The biggest one – a lining. I was sure I have enough lining at home however when it came to cutting it appeared I have only a small piece of the colour I wanted to use. All shops were closed – Sunday – and I did not want to wait, so I decided to use what I had.

Working on the French Jacket - lining quited to the fashion fabric

MISTAKE!  MISTAKE! MISTAKE! NO MORE SHORTCUTS!
Now it will take me more time to fix somehow this issue – but I am not going to put new lining… I am going to have a red – about 5 cm – band  around the hem, centre front and the neckline.
I have bought the lining for a dress (yesterday – pity I did not do this when buying this fabric) which happened to have perfect colour for this jacket. 

Working on the French Jacket - lining quited to the fashion fabric

But first – let’s have some hand-stitching …

Working on the French Jacket - lining quited to the fashion fabric

Next stopper is trim – I am still looking for a proper one. Maybe I will use the red lining and let is extend a little below the edge.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Make sure to have all in place before you start working on a French Jacket

  1. Pingback: Weekend full of handstitching | Red Point Tailor

  2. Pingback: Choosing lining for your French jacket | Red Point Tailor

  3. Pingback: I like my French jacket | Red Point Tailor

  4. Lizzie says:

    Mistake aside, girl, you are FAST! Or perhaps it is that I’m just a very slow sewer.

    • Well… one day home is making big difference. No disturbance, silence and jacket 🙂 I like seeing the progress.
      I think the most time we spend on buying a fabric – then thinking about lining, trim, buttons, etc… sometimes (or maybe often) what to make out of this fabric… we have so many ecellent patterns in our stash 🙂 The moment decision is taken – the sewing is going ok.
      Unless we start to change our mind 🙂

Comments are closed.