Meet … hmmmm …. I still have to find the names

Few years ago I have bought an adjustable dress-form – Lady Lewenstein. It is helpful when trying to check the new garment, how it fit –  but not as much as I expected.
The gaps between the pieces making the garment fitting not always good and the red fabric is not so great to take pictures.

Summer dress - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measure

Recently I have been asked to take pictures of the couture dress I have made and I needed a better dress-form. Almost everyday I am passing by on my way to and from work a shop full of mannequins and dress forms – Konink Etalagepoppen.

Usually it was too late – the shop was closed. Last week however, on the way home I have noticed that the shop is still open – so I took the chance.

Now – I please let me present you the new friends of my Lady Lewenstein

DSC_0036

Next to the dress form I could take this a little damaged piece of mannequin – it will be perfect ‘model’ for hats, jewellery, fashion accessories and tops.

The dress form is almost my size – in hips. I will have to either adjust bust area or I will buy a size smaller.
The dress form is perfect for draping projects!

I was thinking of renting a mannequin for a photo-shoot but it appeared that it would be cheaper to buy one – I have to think about it. I have seen one I liked.

I am thinking of take pictures in the shop between all mannequins – it could be fun.

I took few test pictures of the garments I have made – which I am planning to put on my website.

Jacket, skirt and top - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measure  Evening dress - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measure  Jacket, skirt and top - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measureTop and skirt - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measureJacket, skirt and top - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measureVintage Jacket and skirt - Red Point Tailor Couture - bespoke couture, make-to-order, make-to-measure

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Register

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Atelier and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meet … hmmmm …. I still have to find the names

  1. Imadeit says:

    You do beautiful work! I am happy with my mannequin. Dolly is close to my size, except In the middle, so I padded her and pulled a T-shirt over it all. I hear that if there is a big gap you can cover it with duct tape so the body is smoother?

    • I have to pad a hip area – and U wull cover it with a knitted fabric, I haerd that using the duct tape is not nos good – it formed when it’s warm and any sticking substnace stick to your pins. As long as it is close to my measurements it is ok.
      Success with your projects!

  2. Pingback: Your person is in the mail. | Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

  3. becki says:

    Ugh, I need a dress form but I have ben waiting to find one that I like. It seems to me that they can do as much harm as good if they don’t ‘fit’ right.

    • I have bought the second hand size M – it is ok in hips but too big in bust area. I have bought second hand size S – which is good in bust area but not so in hip. I will have to pad it. I think it is good to invest in good dressform – even second hand. It is easier to make somethig bigger (by padding) than smaller … so check measurements of the dress form before buying.

  4. You’re a lucky girl! I really should use a dress form!!!
    Hugs,
    MammaNene @ SergerPepper.com

    • It is helpful – especially with draping. It is easier to do this on such dress form then on this adjustable one.
      I am looking now for size S – second hand.
      The shop with these all mannequines is awasom. I would like to take a photoshoot there one day 🙂

    • Kamila says:

      A nie wybierasz sie wkrótce do Belgii? Chętnie pozbęde sie mojego, nigdy nie był bliski moich wymiarów i tylko zabiera przestrzeń, ma rozmiar 36 ( wiec to chyba s) ma ładna drewniana nogę , pokrowiec prawdopodobnie musiałabys wymienić bo jest czarny i nie wiem czy dobrze wyglada na zdjęciach, Pa

    • Czesc, jak fajnie uslyszec od ciebie znaki zycia. Ale coz, slub to nie przelewki. Mam nadzieje, ze gdzies jakies zdjecie umiescisz… Co do manekinow, to nigdy nie za duzo, ale jak na razie to mam tez 36. Mize wrzuc na blog albi FB, jak chcesz sie go pozbyc. Na pewno znajdzie sie chetny. Ale bylo by fajnie sie spotkac. Trzeba by cos pomyslec. Pozdrowienia 🙂

Comments are closed.