French Jacket progress

Having one day off last week makes such a difference – daylight is helping a lot.

In the end the underlining – which was ready already few weeks ago – was attached to the fashion fabric.

working on French jacket - Little French Jacket sewalong

I still was not so sure shall I go on with this fabric but ach! it is too late now Glimlach

working on French jacket - Little French Jacket sewalongworking on French jacket - Little French Jacket sewalongworking on French jacket - Little French Jacket sewalongworking on French jacket - basting the underlining to a fashion fabric, marking all notchesworking on French jacket - basting the underlining to a fashion fabric, marking all notches

This weekend I have cut the lining and all pattern pieces are now quilted.

working on French jacket - basting the underlining to a fashion fabric, marking all notchesDSC_0014

What’s more the sleeves parts and the front and back pieces are basted together.

working on French jacket - basting the underlining to a fashion fabric, marking all notches, quilting the linign to a fashion fabricworking on French jacket - basting the underlining to a fashion fabric, marking all notches, quilting the linign to a fashion fabric

I have attached the walking foot to the sewing machine – I will try to use it so I will match the plaids correctly.

It took long to pick up the work on this jacket but once I started it went quite fast.

By the way… I am using the viscose lining. As I did not have enough in one colour I decided to use different colour for the sleeves. Lesson learned – make sure you have enough lining in place.

In between I will have to think and look for a trim. I will try to make a trim from the fashion fabric first.

Enough to do coming days.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Fire Mountain Gems and Beads 40th Anniversary Sale 12.90 Per Issue Banner

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to French Jacket progress

  1. Pingback: The French Jacket courses review – part 1 | Red Point Tailor

  2. Pingback: The French Jacket courses review | Red Point Tailor

  3. becki says:

    I love that fabric, what’s wrong with it? Its great to have a flash of color (I refuse to say pop) once and awhile. I love the warm red tones. Your work looks impeccable! i have had the same problem with lying my self. I buy bemberg by the bolt and sometimes its hard to tell how much is left.

    • There is nothing wrong with the fabric – it is that it is not a colour I usually wear. However I love it more and more. It is not so bright read but darker red tone. And I have just found in my fabric stash fantastic fabric which sutis perfectly to this jacket – it will be a dress and a skirt prbably.
      I have jsut ordered a few meters of silk charmeuse from China for next jackets. It is strange that when I go to a fabric shop and ask about silk charmeuse they look at me with big eyes … maybe they use different name for it.

  4. Great progress! I love your fabric.

  5. This is going to be lovely!

  6. Thewallinna says:

    Looking good 😉

Comments are closed.