Thimble my friend

I will never ever learn to sew with thimble. Over a years I have collected and tried out all sort of thimbles.

These old ones are coming from my husband’s mother – real vintage!

vintage thimble sewing supplies

I have bought few new ones as well hoping they will fit me better,

thimble sewing supplies

and the one open – which I learned was used by man usually…

man thimble sewing supplies

I have bought once this one from leather and a plastic reinforcement,

leather thimble sewing supplies

and few years ago I came across this silicon/jelly one

jelly thimble sewing supplies

Still – no way I would learn to sew having thimble on my finger.

Any time I put it on – when my finger is really sore – I start to use the next finger.

thimbles sewing supplies

Making hats and all couture sewing require a lot of hand sewing – this means my finger will need some special treatment. I am still looking for the best solution.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Atelier and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thimble my friend

  1. I am totally with you on this one. There is something about thimbles that make my sewing feel clumsy. I do love vintage thimbles though…something about those who have gone before us. And if I find an open ended thimble, I will probably have to give it a try…just because. :-))

    • I am looking for open one but my size – usually they are big – for man’s fingers🙂 I will try the leather one first though. Maybe I will cut out a finger from an old glove…😉

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I love my leather thimble. You can see it here:

    • GREAT – Thanks for sharing! That was your blog I have seen this. Thewallinna in her Etsy shop had one but the shop is closed noe. I have a leather so maybe I will try to make one or I just cut one finger from old gloves🙂

  3. Pella says:

    Like MamaNene, I like to use a thimble, but find that no-one stocks a decent range of sizes any more, and some are so flimsy that the needle end pierces the metal if you’re pushing through anything strong. I’ve tried wrapping my finger in band-aid to get it to the size of the thimbles available, but it doesn’t work well.

    • Wonderful! I wish I could. I am triying to learn to use it for years. As child I used to play with th thimbles but somehow never learn to use them to when hand sewing.
      With these all hand-sewing it getting really handy to use one🙂

  4. Interesting post… I love to sew with a thimble, but I can’t find one that stay on my finger… they all fall down, any size I choose … sgrunt…
    MammaNene @

Comments are closed.