French jacket sewing techniques resources

I was relieved to find out I am not the only one being late with the French Jacket sew along. One of the reason is the Claire Schaeffer book and DVD.
However even though I still did not progress with actual sewing I came along interesting blogs from the past which would be helpful to all of us.

– Few years ago the sew along took place – Go Chanel or Go Home. It was the first sew along I have followed – I did not participate – it was too late. However when you check the blog posts and posts of other participating bloggers you will find a lot of great tips, hints, advises e.g. how to change 2 pieces sleeve into 3 pieces sleeve, make trims, quilt a lining, etc..

Go Chanel or Go Home sew along Chanel jacket

– Another great source on Chanel jacket and couture techniques is the blog The Sewing Divas.

– If you would like to discover more about Claire Schaeffer’s Chanel Collection – you may think on purchasing DVD – Behind The Seams: The Shaeffer Collection Volume One: CHANEL

 Behind The Seams: The Shaeffer Collection Volume One: CHANEL

 Behind The Seams: The Shaeffer Collection Volume One: CHANEL Behind The Seams: The Shaeffer Collection Volume One: CHANEL

– ALL Angela Wolf’s PatternReview online classes are on sale for the rest of the week.! “Why?  Just a special thanks to all of you that support my teaching.  Speaking of support, thanks to your votes in the Craftsy 2013 Blogger Awards, we won Runner-Up for Sewing Best Instructor’s Blog!”

CONGRATULATIONS Glimlach

the Craftsy 2013 Blogger Awards, we won Runner-Up for Sewing Best Instructor’s Blog

One of the classes on sale –  The Contemporary Couture Jacket! Class Fee: On Sale! $29.00 (Regular: $69.00)

The Contemporary Couture Jacket! Class Fee: On Sale! $29.00 (Regular: $69.00) (picture taken from PR site)

A well-made jacket can show off an outfit to its best. Join designer Angela Wolf as she shows you the fundamentals and fine points of creating a contemporary couture jacket (her version of the traditional Chanel jacket) in 2 hours and 45 minutes of HD video. Her method of sewing this jacket is just a little faster than the traditional one but doesn’t sacrifice its style! And this jacket features a quilted lining, but Angela shows you that you don’t need to spend 140 hours creating it.

I like the part about trims.

BTW – check her latest post on How to Sew a Curved Welt Pocket. Great tutorial!

I will be off for my work so no sewing coming days… reading and taking online classes then.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

Craftsy Sewing Designer Jeans by Angela Wolf
Sewing Designer Jeans

from: Craftsy.com

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata, under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to French jacket sewing techniques resources

  1. Pingback: Weekend full of handstitching | Red Point Tailor

Comments are closed.