It was difficult to resist – new fabrics in my fabric stash

This is a part of fabrics I have bought during the fabric market – Stoffenspektakel in Zwolle.

There are mostly jerseys for tops (black, red and yellow) – quick projects – as well as a stretch fabric for pants. Yes, I will have to tackle this topic again. Maybe I will have to find a sewing partner to help me with fitting. This will be in-between project while working on a French jacket – a part of the Little French Jacket sew-along.

Stoffenspektakel - Fabric market - new fabric stash - winter tops

While shopping for fabrics I visited my favourite stand Kruyff V.O.F. with so fabulous fabrics – it was difficult to leave them there. I will have something to think about for the next fabric market in Apeldoorn. I have still bought black cashmere for a coat and fabulous purple (Acai – Pantone colour for Fall 2013) for a jacket. And while talking to the stand owner she gave me at the and a small leaflet with contact details. Unfortunately they do not have a physical shop – they only sell on a markets – but – while reading this leaflet at home I have noticed a small note:

‘…We are with our stand every Monday in Apeldoorn on a market…’

My mouth dropped down! This is great! This is great news!! I have weekly access to outstanding, houte couture fabrics… it is really great news especially that I want to focus on making garments with high quality fabrics. It is killing for my wallet though🙂
I already can see my webshop full of French jackets and other couture garments – make to measure/order …
It doesn’t mean of course that I will be there every Monday … but it gives me a peaceful feeling that I am not limited to 2 fabric marks a year.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Fabric Stash and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It was difficult to resist – new fabrics in my fabric stash

  1. Pingback: My harvest | Gilraensblog

  2. Pingback: Make A Garment A Month Challenge | Red Point Tailor

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Nice choices! Yummy

  4. Zoe says:

    I love the fabric you chose, the black cashmere sounds so luxurious! I’ve never bought any super expensive fabric… though I will if I can find some stretch sequin fabric I adore🙂

    • The cashmere (with a little wool) is really nice – it feels great – luxurious – high quality. It was not so expencive as I expected. I know I will enjoy this coat for a long time.
      I am curious this sequin dress … which pattern will you use?

    • Zoe says:

      I have a few in mind. I am still deciding whether I want it with long sleeves or short sleeves. I have seen some very nice ones with short sleeves and a v back. I am thinking maybe Kwik Sew 3561 or Simplicity 2054🙂

    • Great patterns! The cut will be simple with gorgeous fabric🙂
      I have just realized I have some sort of sequine – black – fabric attached to the Butterick pattern dress 5706. Next on your list?

    • Zoe says:

      Oh, that Butterick pattern is great and so suited to the style. Now to just find the sequins!🙂

    • Success with your dress! I am looking forward to see the final result on your blog🙂

  5. grtescp says:

    I hope to get to the stoffenspektakel later in the autumn, when I have time to sew again… I am sure I will be buying lots of knits too! Looking forward to seeing all your creations.

  6. ThreadTime says:

    I love those reds and golds at the bottom of the stack. I must be attracted to reds right now!
    Is the lovely boucle at the top of the stack for the French jacket (or am I stealing your thunder for that post)? 🙂

  7. Leila says:

    I love what you’ve picked. How cool that you have someone offering great fabrics every week! I have a shop in town that sounds similar to the one you went to and it’s so nice knowing that I can pop in for high quality fabrics.

    • I will make full report on the blog including all fabrics – I have just took pictures – and guess what – I descovered some fabrics I have forgotten I have bought.
      It is wonderful – it takes pressure that I have only actually 1 moment of buying fabrics. This sometimes can lead to miss-shopping… now I can look and think and go back – wonderful, relaxing?
      It is wonderful to have shop like in your place – I would probably spend hourse there … I would bring own table, coffee🙂

    • Leila says:

      Oh yes! The mis-shopping. That has happened to me before. You rush and then regret.

  8. baum says:

    Very envious – I wish there were such markets near where I live. Looking forward to seeing your creations with the fabrics!

    • I am so glad I in the end visited this market last year! The majority of stands have, cotton, stretch polyester or viscose fabrics – only few have really high quality silks, wool, tweeds.

  9. becki says:

    Oh pretty! I love the black leopard, and the red looks so pretty. Any specific plans for garments yet?

Comments are closed.