Time for a skirt

Now when bodice is ready it is time for a skirt.

bodice is ready - couture dress bodice (based on Vogue dress 8648

I decided to make a new muslin – I put a date on it to know next tome which one is the newest.

working on skirt - couture dress based on Vogue dress 8648

working on skirt - couture dress based on Vogue dress 8648

Now the usual steps – silk organza, fashion fabric and skirt is ready!
I was hoping to finish it today but I decided to have a lazy Sunday – I was enjoying few sunny moments today!

Marianne from Foxgloves and thimbles asked me if I am timing the whole process. I was thinking about doing it once – I will maybe even do this while making a little French jacket (as part of a sew along).
I am sewing really extremely slowly – I just take a time to enjoy the process – I don’t need a lot of cloth I opt to have a few but high quality.

It was nice to find other blogger who is enjoying ‘slow sewing’ – featherstitch. I am sure there are more among of us.

Following the sewing bloggers I am discovering so many reasons behind the idea of starting sewing… I find it very interesting.

Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


$9.99 per month September Special

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Time for a skirt

  1. Wiktoria says:

    Podziwiam Cię ciociu za precyzję. Obym kiedyś też tak cierpliwie podchodziła do szycia . Zrobiłam wpis z kolczykami od Ciebie😉

  2. sewexhausted says:

    I think taking time is good… I have found I like it better that way- it challenges me to try more difficult patterns- and then I am so happy when it is done. I am steering more and more away from quickie projects – although I am sure they still have their time and place! Great fabric for your dress. I really like those colors! ~Laurie

  3. Marianne says:

    Oh, I’m totally into slow sewing too! In the garment industry where time is money more and more details are skipped for the sake of speeding things up. I like to add items like bound buttonholes and beautiful seam finishings just because I can, it’s always the details that make me smile. Your dress is going to be beautiful!

  4. elise says:

    I love that you take your time with projects. I think sometimes it can turn into a bit of a race to finish something, and it’s nice to take a step back. This is going to be beautiful.

    • This is one of the reasons why I am not (or rare) take part in any sew-along (or similar).
      I think you enjoy and respect the garments more when you take time to make it.

  5. ThreadTime says:

    I’m loving the fabric in this dress. Beautiful job!

Comments are closed.