On my cutting table

Coming week I will be away for my work but still I would like to take some sewing work with me.

I have few fabrics I have bought to make a Chanel-like jacket. Some of them are silk with cotton or linen. I have bought as well the silk organza for interlining and silk for lining. All is set up. At least 2 fabrics will be transfer to a jacket based on a Vogue pattern 8804 by Claire Shaeffer.

On my cutting table - Vogue Jacket Chanel like by Claire Shaeffer

The pattern pieces in size 8 (I checked the ease and I think size 8 will fit better) are already traced on paper and I marked the seam allowances, grain line, notches and all other needed marks Glimlach.

On my cutting table - Vogue Jacket Chanel like by Claire Shaeffer

Now I can easy transfer all pattern pieces on canvas using the Buda wax tracing paper as I have done with a dress based on Marfy  pattern. Having this done I will stitch all sewing lines and my canvas pieces will be ready to make a muslin.

On my cutting table - Vogue Jacket Chanel like by Claire Shaeffer

Online Sewing Class

Another project is my couture dress. I have already tested this pattern so I can now trace pattern pieces on silk organza and follow further a couture process.

On my cutting table - Vogue Dress V8648

Having these two things ready I will be able to do some hand stitching work next week.

In between I am going to follow-up on Craftsy courses, e.g. Custom Fitting: Back, Neck and Shoulders with Kathleen Cheetham – will be useful while fitting the jacket,

Custom Fitting: Back, Neck and Shoulders

40 Techniques Every Sewer Should Know – Gail Yellen – I can always leran some handy tips,

40 Techniques Every Sewer Should Know

or Adjust the Bust – the most common adjustment.

Adjust the Bust

Enough to do Glimlach. I am curious about this classes – the reviews are very positive.

And of course I will update (try to) my web shop with new glass jewellery. I have noticed I have to take few more pictures.
BTW – WIX.com – application I am using to build my website – just  added a new functionality – stunning 3D Galleries! Awesome! I am going to try one of them…

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects, SEW-ALONGs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On my cutting table

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. Pingback: October full of plans | Red Point Tailor

  3. Pingback: September sum-up | Red Point Tailor

  4. Pingback: One day I will own one of these… | Knit Stitch Sew

  5. izis111I says:

    no trzeba przyznac ze jestes wysokiej klasy specjalistka, podziwiam wiedze….

  6. jobirdie says:

    I have just purchased your “chanel-type” pattern too – keen to see your result. As we are going into summer here my version may have to wait until later. Such beautiful fabrics you have!

  7. Ooh lovely, I’m attempting to knit a Chanel-sequence cardi but I think it will take a while! Got some purple fleky wool with black speckles.

  8. Mary says:

    I would love to “shop” your fabric stash! What gorgeous weaves and colors.

    • Thanks! It was good to put them next to each other… I did not realize I have so many… and all different. I will make dress from one of them as well. Who knows … maybe I will put few for sale😉 or giveaway …

  9. Succes met al die lessen! Ik vind craftsy ook echt geweldig. Maar ik moet eerst eens alles afmaken dat ik al gekocht had🙂

Comments are closed.