Red Summer Dress finished

Despite small irritation – my sewing machine again refused to behave – I have managed to finish this wearable summer dress muslin.
I was testing the bodice before making the dress from a fashion fabric.

Summer red dress - Vogue 8648Summer red dress - Vogue 8648Summer red dress - Vogue 8648

I used a piece of cotton (about 50 cm) for the bodice and for a skirt a bottom piece of a dress I have never had on. Few years ago I have made a skirt out of this dress so I still have a zipper in.

Summer red dress - Vogue 8648Summer red dress - Vogue 8648Summer red dress - Vogue 8648

I decided to leave it in place – it was nice ecru colour which suited perfect to the skirt. I put another zipper to the bodice in red colour. Now I have 2 zippers and it is working perfect.

While trying the dress I have noticed how important it is to fit garments in the same underwear you have been taking measurements and made fitting while sewing.

It was pleasure to attach zipper and lining to the bodice by hand. Now I have to give a little press to the bodice and hope for few sunny days to wear it.

Anyway I am ready to start working on my couture dress based on this Vogue 8648. The step by step process presented in the Online Couture Dress Class by Susan Khalje was very helpful.

I have only 3 days before leaving for my work and then I will stay week at my mom’s, so I would like to proceed far enough to be able to finish it next week.
Others, it will be week after Glimlach – as long as I finish it so I could start working on a new project.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

The Couture Dress by Susan Khalje Sewing With Silks by Linda Lee

Sewing on the Edge by Lynda Maynard Plus-Size Pattern Fitting & Design by Barbara Deckert

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Red Summer Dress finished

  1. KasiaB says:

    Jesteś niesamowita! tak wszytych zamków jeszcze nie widziałam! podziwiam😀 Sukienka wyszła bardzo ładnie , fason, kolory. Życzę Ci jeszcze wielu słonecznych dni żebyś mogła wykorzystać tą śliczną sukienkę :)Pozdrawiam gorąco

    • Dzieki! Dwa zamki czesto sa uzywane w houte couture… fajnie bylo sprobowac🙂. Mam nadzieje, ze te dwa zapoiadane cieple dni beda naprawde cieple i te sukienka zobaczy i poczuje jeszcze promienie sloneczne🙂
      Tobie tez jeszcze duzo goracych dni zycze🙂

  2. becki says:

    I’ve read about the two zipper technique, I’ll have to examine this more closely. Yours looks fabulous, love the dress.

  3. black label says:

    Super job. I hope there is enough summer left to enjoy your dress🙂

  4. Gjeometry says:

    Very pretty dress, I love the red in it and so different that you used two zippers!

  5. grtescp says:

    such a summery dress – perfect for the good weather forecast again for the end of this week!

  6. mrsmole says:

    So interesting to see 2 different colors of zippers used! The top fits so nice and sits exactly on your waist. The straps are nice and wide too…good job!

  7. Hana says:

    Lovely dress as always! I like the way you use two zipper in one dress, it turned out perfectly.

Comments are closed.