The red summer dress – almost there…

After finishing the Vintage wrap top I picked up one of the UFO projects.

The red summer dress based on Vogue dress 8648 (you may read more about it here).
I have finished the bodice – all seams are catch-stitched. I used silk organza as interfacing and stabilizer. I am ready for the next step.
And then while attaching the upper bodice to the waist band I have noticed a very strange thing…

The red summer dress–wearable muslin

The side seams did not match Verraste emoticon – there is about 1 cm difference… I have checked the muslin and there everything was ok. Hmmm, where did I make a mistake? I will have to check the paper pattern pieces.

The red summer dress–wearable muslinThe red summer dress–wearable muslin

I am glad I have noticed it and I have done it in a try garment – well, wearable but proof one.
Anyway, I am now ready to attach the bodice to the skirt.

The red summer dress–wearable muslin

You have probably noticed  that there is already a zipper in the skirt … I will not remove it. I will attach different zipper to the bodice – I will have two zippers.

Almost done … I hope I could still wear it this summer Glimlach

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The red summer dress – almost there…

  1. Hi Beata, I have started a blog on wordpress as well as blogger – I want to try both platforms. I thought I might confuse you! The dress is turning out nicely – I hope you wear it this summer too. I love the patterned lining.

    • Great! I have to say I am not so in favour of Blogger.
      To write the posts I use Windows Live Writer – it makes much easier to write, edit text, insert pictures, etc.
      I was hoping to finish the dress yesterday but I did not have zipper. So first think today after work – zipper shopping…

  2. KasiaB says:

    Czekam na końcowy efekt! Bardzo ładne kolory będzie miała sukienka! Pozdrawiam

Comments are closed.