Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fitting session

I was very curious how it will fit – and reading all comments under the previous post – not only me Glimlach

As I wrote previously I needed to make the sleeves narrower. I pinned 4 cm at the wrist and then I make 3 cm round the sleeves.

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit Red Point Tailor following Studio Faro instructions

The wrap top looks much better but I still have too much fabric around the neck and shoulders – and it is a little too long. When you look at the picture on the envelope you can see that there is much less fabric – it is more fitted. I am curious how this top looked in real fabric then.

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point TailorVintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point Tailor

 

I like the combination of this light pick with this light grey colour. Ok, then I tried to wear it with the cross-over at the back. I had no issues with the collar placed so high – I liked that actually. But definitely there is too much fabric. I have to size it down.

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point TailorVintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point Tailor
The left picture is taken without any manipulations and on the right one I pulled the fabric more to the neck line.

The only way to make it smaller at this point was to pinned it at the back seam the whole length. This meant that I would have the seam at the back and it would not be so nice to wear it with cross over at the back. But I have to compromise somewhere ….

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point Tailor

As you can see below the top looks much better with these adjustments.

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point TailorVintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point Tailor

It is still bagging at the back a little but this I will solve when making another top. I know what kind of fabric I will buy during the upcoming fabric market.
So far I am pleased with the result. Let’s make the changes and finish it Glimlach.
Herewith a picture with all my adjustments

Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fit by Red Point Tailor

Now let’s think about the pencil skirt with the high waist – it will be perfect for this wrap top … but first I will try to finish few UFO’s.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

 


Shoot It! A Product Photography Primer – $39.99
Retail Price: $49.99
You Save: $10.00
from: Craftsy.com

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Vintage wrap top Advance 8190 first fitting session

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Wow, it’s really lovely! And, yes, the alterations you made make such a difference. It looks like a whole other top now, fits beautifully!

  2. Isabela says:

    It looks really good !

Comments are closed.