Pink wearable muslin – Advance 8190

Charmed by this vintage pattern of wrap top (Advance 8190) I could not wait to finish it.

vintage pattern Advance 8190 vintage pattern Advance 8190

It was really easy – 3 easy steps … PIN … CUT … SEW Glimlach.
First I have joined canter back – following advice of Studio Faro.

Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190

The next step was to sew sleeves and neck edges. Then I have joined two centre backs together and sewn sleeves.

Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190

Slowly the whole top start to take a shape.

In order to attach the waist belt I have pinned the bodice inside the belt between the notches and sewn it with the overlock.

Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190

When I turned it inside out I have now nice clean connection between the bodice and the waist band.

Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190

I already see that I will need to narrow the sleeves at wrists – but first I will have to put it on. I am very curious how it lay on me comparing to the picture on the pattern envelope Glimlach
And here it is! I just put it on my dress form to take a picture.

Pink wearable muslin - Advance 8190

I love the whole concept of this pattern – easy, feminine – very 50’s. After this pattern is altered I will make sure that the next time I will cut bodice double (fold as well on the neck line). Especially when working with such light weighted jersey it could be handy.
Tomorrow follow-up … maybe having enough time I will work on the dress as well ….

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pink wearable muslin – Advance 8190

  1. Laura Nash says:

    it’s interesting that the drawing shows a seam across the back/front both horizontal and vertical, but the pattern is just one piece?

    • Correct – when you look at one of the last picture you will see I was making it smaller. And the only way of making it smaller was to have the seam at the back – the whole lenght. I needed to compromise this time.
      Now I have pattern on my size and the next top will be without this seam at the back.

  2. Oh very nice – I’d love to see it on when you’ve finished tweaking!

  3. becki says:

    Hmmm, interesting. Cant wait to see it.

  4. sewexhausted says:

    Great color… Looks like it was an interesting way to put it together! I love it! ~Laurie

  5. izis111 says:

    Beatko ja bym tez taka chciala sobie uszyc, gdzie znajde jeszcze ten wykroj??

  6. Anita McAdam says:

    Hey RPT, great job. Can we see a photo on you sometime?😉

Comments are closed.