Advance 8190 first steps

After Studio Faro has solved the puzzle of this vintage pattern Advance 8190 I decided to give it a try.

vintage pattern Advance 8190 vintage pattern Advance 8190

I have dug out this light pink jersey and after making sure there is enough fabric to make a wearable test model I fist started to make a pattern.

vintage pattern Advance 8190 vintage pattern Advance 8190


As I mentioned I decided to adjust the pattern (sleeves) as suggested by the Studio Faro.

RedPointTailor_diagram1measure1wm vintage pattern Advance 8190 RedPointTailor_diagram1measure2wm vintage pattern Advance 8190

(Above pictures are taken from the Studio Faro blog – btw … above line – neckline / front wrap – the total length is 73 cm divided into 25 cm and 48 cm – not 45 cm. Unless it is meant to have in the middle 25 cm and 28 cm in the centre front.)

It looks like I will make the sleeves even more narrower…

Making of the pattern went fast – it was not a rocket science Glimlach

vintage pattern Advance 8190 vintage pattern Advance 8190

So now all two pattern pieces are cut off waiting to be processed further. What looks like neck line – it is actually waist with waistband… just to make it even more confused Glimlach.

vintage pattern Advance 8190

I am going to follow the instruction prepared by Studio Faro. It is actually exactly as easy as it is written on the pattern envelope – 3 easy steps … PIN … CUT … SEW Glimlach. It as well remind me a top which long, long – very long – ago my mother made for me – only without sleeves.
I will try to finish this top tomorrow.

In my Inspiration map I have found out more similar wrap tops – which I adore!

V9278 - wrap top

Vogue_7225_wrap tap7701 wrap top3512 wrap top

4165 wrap top8143 wrap top9166 wrap top

The below pattern I have bought by Decades of Style Pattern Company – it is time to make it as well… it is so elegant.

5201 Decade of stype wrap top

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Advance 8190 first steps

  1. sewexhausted says:

    I am assuming from the picture it can be worn either way? It is very nice top- Can’t wait to see it finished up in all of it’s glory! ~Laurie

    • Correct … this pattern has attracted my attention many years ago and I was looking for the pattern since. Now I have it and the top is almost ready🙂

    • Anita McAdam says:

      Hi sewexhausted. I tried wearing it the other way – that is with the high drape at the front and it almost choked me! So I only would consider wearing with the wrap at the front. Let me know how you go with your top. Thx😉 studiofaro

  2. Oh this is intriguing isn’t it? The pattern shape – I’m not surprised that you have been wanting to figure it out.

Comments are closed.