Catching up on reading

Before visiting hours at the hospital I was ‘shopping’ in Wejherowo. (PL). I have come across a fabric shop with wonderful fabrics. I could not resist and I have bought 2 pieces of silk for blouses.

However as sewing is not so possible I am catching up on reading.

Having in mind starting again sewing business I have bought this book How to Start a Home-based Fashion Design Business  by Angela Wolf.

‘ This book will be a priceless resource for those considering adventuring into the fashion industry, yet not knowing how or where to start. Comprised of detailed information, How to Start a Home-based Fashion Design Business will be a guide for the aspiring designer to plan and execute a successful home based business. This material will not only provide a fashion realm, but will show how to create additional revenue streams in the sewing field. This book will be the “one stop shop” for the small designer.’

This book is a great first step in entering a fashion design industry. Has helpful information on designing clothing, contacting clients, examples of contracts, etc. This book is showing the reality, no colourful stories – just how it is.

Very important aspect of balance between family and work is discussed as well – which very often is forgotten.

Starting sewing business–read this book





Starting sewing business–read this book

Starting sewing business–read this book www.redpointtailor.comStarting sewing business–read this book

Other book I have bought few months ago is Blue is the New Black: The 10 Step Guide to Developing and Producing a Fashion Collection by Susie Breuer.

‘Blue is the New Black demystifies the process of how to make a fashion collection accessible for all levels. It’s an A to Z of the whole fashion process from development to production. A reference guide, a buddy, and a bible of who, what, and where.’

…. which is more about industry then home business.

This book is more focused on developing and producing a fashion collection from the industrial point of view. It is a great reference guide for a student, a young professional or have some experience in fashion. It provides really a practical overview of the complete process of developing and producing a fashion collection.

Starting sewing business–read this book

Starting sewing business–read this book www.redpointtailor.comStarting sewing business–read this book

I am enjoying reading these books. If you think of starting a business in fashion industry I would highly recommend both books.

To do or not to do? …  Shall I start sewing for the clients, starting my own line? I have now enough time to think about it.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin


About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Library and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching up on reading

  1. Wow that’s a very exciting thought. BTW there’s also a great resource that you may already have come across Do you know it already?

  2. mreesy says:

    Thanks for that very usful information I have been thinking about this for years , I’m definitely going out to buy this book.

Comments are closed.