Starting working on a new project – dress Vogue 8648

When I am tired I know something could go wrong so I prefer to work on something easy. The muslin of Marfy dress is waiting to be disassembled so I could put all adjustments on the pattern pieces. I think I will trace patterns to keep originals untouched. Tomorrow ….

Having wonderful summer weather outside is not helping to sit inside … I see so many posts with stunning summer dresses… so it is time to prepare for new dresses.

I have checked my patterns stash and I have ascertained that I have few summer patterns already traced and ready to by turn to dresses Glimlach

Some of the upcoming projects (to bust some fabrics and patterns):


V8787 dress with drape frontV8766 simple dressV8727 - simple dressB5849 simple dress patternB5850 simple dress patternV1192 dress with drape front


V8804 - jacket pattern - Chanel-likeB5859 - jacket short

But first … a dress based on the Vogue 8648 pattern as part of the Online Couture Dress Class by Susan Khalje:

Online Sewing Class

V8648 Vogue dress pattern envelope description

First I took the paper sheets with printed patterns and checked the size as well as finished garment measurements. I am always doing this as sometimes the added ease is really huge! This is what I like about the great 3 patterns –it is helpful indicator for me. Cutting size 10 I will still have enough loose to move. I did not decided yet about the sleeves. I prefer the sleeveless version as it is more comfortable under the jacket.

V8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step -checking size

On the already fastened Burda tracing wax paper I put a white paper and at the top the paper with patterns. I trace the patterns using the wheel. It went very fast!

V8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - pattern pieces tracing using Burda tracing wax paperV8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - pattern pieces tracing using Burda tracing wax paper

I decided to trace only bodice and midriff and make the skirt using my own pattern – tested one. After all pattern pieces were traced I marked the seam allowances and put all useful marking on the pattern pieces.

V8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - marking seam allowances

Another change will be the front and back midriff in once piece (accordingly). As I wanted to keep all pattern pieces untouched I have copied these 4 small pieces and taped them eliminating the seam allowances. As the fabric has no pattern I will not cut it on bias.

V8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - adjusting midriffV8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - adjusting midriff

Now I am ready to cut the muslin bodice.

V8648 Vogue dress pattern step by step - laying patterns on muslin fabric

The fashion fabric will be this cotton blend in see green colour I have bought last year at Textielstad:

Chanel fabric see green cotton linen silk

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Starting working on a new project – dress Vogue 8648

  1. Looking forward to that, as the pattern is tempting, really🙂

  2. Isabella M. says:

    Beautifully announces the material I like very much and I visit this site to the material

    • Thanks Iza! It is nice webshop – the moment you choose a fabric they proposed the best suited lining, threads, zipper…. name it🙂 and they have much more fabric in a phisical shop (at least this is what I was reading on their website). I am planning to go there one day.

  3. eumoronorio says:

    that fabric is lovely. I cut up my pattern in prep for sewing, but I just haven’t been motivated to start. Maybe when the weather turns warmer…

  4. Maria says:

    I have the same pattern, but I don’t know if I’ll make it yet. The fabric you have chosen will look really nice and very chic :0) m.

  5. I do like the fabric you have – the light plaid will go so nicely with this dress. I look forward to seeing it made up.

Comments are closed.