The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to – step by step

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

I like this Marfy dress more and more. I decided to make the dress in two colours.
The dress will be plain red and the top from the fabric with flowers pattern. Or other way around?

  • Characteristic of Marfy patterns – what’s in an envelope?

The Marfy patterns are cut off, with marked by hand grain line (pencil) and notches. each notch has a mark – a letter. There are stapms on the patterns marking front and back – in Italian and English languages. There are no other description, as e.g. cut 2 times, fabric, lining, etc.. There is no instruction on how to assembly the pattern. You have to figure it out yourself. I love such challenges.
This dress is simple – it has only 11 pieces, and the only pattern with the description – which I don’t use. I don’t want to spoil the fun :-).

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

After taking the pattern from a wrap paper (‘the envelope’) I ironed all pieces – dry, no steam! I ironed as well the cotton canvas I used for muslin.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

To trace the pattern pieces I taped this time the Burda wax paper to my cutting table to prevent it from moving around. It helped a lot! Again I was really missing the large sheet of wax paper Susan Khalje used in Craftsy Online Couture Dress Class – I will have to look for it. the Burda paper is small – you have to put two pieces of paper next to each other to trace bigger pieces.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

On the wax paper I laid the cotton canvas and arranged pattern pieces – checking the grain line of each pattern.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

I was tracing on single layer so afterwards I cut off the pattern piece, turned in on and trace other site. I marked all notches accordingly. Doing this in such way is very relaxing.
You do not have to worry about seam allowances – you just need to cut around enough fabric to have enough margin for fitting. Susan Khalje tip!

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

All pieces I sewed around on the seam lines to clearly see each pattern shape.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

Afterwards I arranged all pieces following the notches and marking. Everything matched perfectly. You immediately know the steps you should follow to assembly the dress.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

The sewed seams helped in matching the pieces together – you can easy feel the stitch so you don’t have to turn the fabric on-and-on to check if you are following the stitch line on both sites. It is very helpful.

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by stepThe Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

First I assembled the site front panels and skirt back panels of the dress. Then I put together top and skirt part of the back site. Next I staied stitch and gathered at the site panel on the bust line. When this was ready I assembled the front.
The next part was easy – just to stich the front to back on both sites and schouder seam.

And here it is Glimlach

The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by stepThe Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to - step by step

Now I have to sew the zipper at the back and try it on.

I know I will have to watch out sewing the neckline as this part is cut on bias.

Even though such bottom line of the hem is not my favourite – I have to say I like it. This dress would work with strait skirt as well.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Marfy dress pattern 3069 – how to – step by step

  1. Mary says:

    This dress will be wonderful-I love the lines, and your fabric choices are going to play up the bodice well.

  2. sosewlovely says:

    Thanks for the post. I want to try Marfy’s pattern but it looks so intimidating! Your photos give me comfort to try making one. I hope the muslin will fit you well.

    • You are welcome! I am glad as the Marfy patterns are so fabulous and feminine.
      Just pick up a simple pattern and try. It is now much easier to order them (at lease I have such impression).
      I am looking forward to see your Marfy creation!

  3. Oo this is going to be lovely in the fabrics you’ve picked out. I like both so either way around will be pretty …. I look forward to seeing what you chose to do.
    Now I understand too what you mean by cutting out one piece then doing the other side – so please ignore my last comment on the earlier post about the jacket for your DH.
    Thank you also for the tips about taping tracing paper to the cutting mat/table and cutting pieces out with plenty of spare width along the seamlines. It makes a lot of sense.

  4. sarah liz says:

    The dress so far has made up nicely – I do hope it fits you well. I quite like the hem – it helps balance out the top a little. It will be very summery and elegant – now all you have to start doing is banishing the grey skies 🙂

    • Well, surprisingly it fits 🙂 – there is enough ease so I don’t have to make it bigger at the hip area. I will fit it today properly and take few pictures.
      I have seen and heard that next week the summer will come to NL 🙂 I have to hurry up with my summer wardrobe!

Comments are closed.