Topic of 2013-pants fitting issues

Probably you all noticed that there are a lot of us trying to achieve proper fitting trousers this year. Maybe because I am busy with the pants I see this topic popping up on blogs more often than usually.

Wonderful Sarah Liz – who is sewing trousers as well  and wrote a lot of great posts regarding trousers fitting issues (check this one with fantastic advises) – has shared on her blog inforamtion about a book – The Classic Guide to Altering Patterns – The Perfect Fit.

First I thought – well… another book; shall I buy it; is there really something new…

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing libraryTopic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing library

What shall I said – I am glad I did it. It constrains a huge amount of very useful information of figure types, how to measure,

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing libraryTopic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing library

how to fit and alter patterns for upper body

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing library

And of course there is a chapter on pants fitting. I like the way it is done. Very clear pictures, easy to see the issues and clear explanation of pattern alteration.

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers, must have in sewing library

If you do not have this book – well, I could say – another must have in your sewing library. I will for sure use some advised when making next trousers Glimlach

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers

My latest wearable muslin needs only to have belt attached and then I can wear it at home – and maybe not only …

I put on the pattern all alteration for the next one – with this book it should be easier.

Topic of 2013–pants fitting issues, there is still hope for my trousers

So there is still hope for my trousers Glimlach

Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Topic of 2013-pants fitting issues

  1. Pingback: Trousers | Fat Chic

  2. Diane Hudson says:

    I’ve never attempted trousers Beata, though I have a pattern waiting … I’ll follow your progress with interest!

  3. Sarah Liz says:

    Hi Beata – I’m glad you found the book useful – everyone learns a different way – but this is a simple book to get anyone started. Looking forward to seeing the finished result soon.

  4. joannaloana says:

    O raju, czemu nie ma takich fajnych książek po polsku? To jest dokładnie to, co potrzebuję – jak dopasować wykroje do moich wymiarów…

    • Hmmm, mysle, ze sa, pamietam jeszcze ze szkoly – dawno temu i na pewmo nie z takimi kolorowi obrazkami :-). Na stronie Lucznika czasami widze ciekawe polskie archiwalne egzemplarz

  5. Is that from the Singer series? If so they may be ‘old’ but I have a few and they have so much great solid tips/techniques.

  6. Thanks for sharing. I think I am going to look for this book..

    • Welcome. The Pants for real people shows step by step the fitting process – this one shows on clear pictures the most common issues and the way of adjusting a pattern – not only pants 🙂

  7. sewexhausted says:

    I go back and forth on whether or not I am ready to make a pair of pants. That initial pair seems like it will take a LOT of study, and work. Looks like “The Perfect Fit” is a good place to start though. ~Laurie

    • My advise is – take a cheap fabric and just do it! Besides ‘The Perfect Fit’ I would advise ‘Pants for Real People: Fit and Sew for Any Body’- this book describe step by step fitting process – PERFECT!

  8. Anthea says:

    I would love to see the result!

Comments are closed.