Pant fitting – another muslin

Well, I am still busy with my – so far – last pants muslin. One of the stretch jeans muslin I have finished and wearing them – mostly at home. The last one is from cotton and I will make ii as wearable muslin as well.

This whole pants soap really exhausted me and took energy away. I was planning to make a jacket for my DH in May – no way. I am too addicted to the fitting.

As I wrote before I have follow the Craftsy class Pant Fitting Techniques online course by Sandra Betzina. I was not so glad with it. I did not learn a lot. I learned actually nothing new at all. I think I have learned more from the books I have. So it was nice surprise when I got my mony back from  Craftsy. I can spend them on other class🙂

In the end I have bought the book – following advice of a lot of bloggers🙂 (what a great community – thanks a lot!) – Pants for Real People: Fit and Sew for Any Body – by Marta Alto, Pati Palmer. This is the book! Actually I expected the Craftsy course to be as this book – showing each amendments on a model.


This book is a must in every sewing library! It shows in a very structure way how to achieve a proper fitting trousers.

First chapters are showing more general approach – step by step, clearly with very handy tips. Then next chapters show fitting on real people. Each fitting issue is in picture and each adjustment is explained and then there is a picture after.  Wonderful, helpful, handy. It is making fitting own pants much easier. It helps to understand the whole process. The authors are as well honest in telling that it is a long process but you will reach the end goal! I am very glad I have bought this book – the only think I am sorry about is that I have bought electronic version. I think I will still buy regular one.

Following the advise from this book I will have to sew 5 pants within a week to exercise fitting. Well, I have enough fabric in my stash for this! Another good project for 2013 Style The Stash Sew A Long🙂

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pant fitting – another muslin

  1. I still haven’t tackled pants, but I’m always interested in reading the problems other people have, and how they solve them.

    • I was doing exactly the same so far … plus reading different fitting books. I know that one day I will have to face this pants… it look so easy looking at this all fixing issues pictures – and then there is a reality🙂
      I am glad I started it – even though it is really frustrating sometimes.

  2. Oh I am a little late to comment but I am going to have a look at this book in the library because I am very very stalled in my pants making also. I have made another pair up, with alterations, but haven’t had the heart to sew the waist up enough to try them on – I’m a little nervous to do so frankly as I have no idea whether I’ve got this right this time.

    • Just do it – maybe it will work for you. SarahLiz mentioned in one of her post book ‘The Perfect Fit’ – this one describes as well pants fitting. I like this approach as well. Check this one as well.

    • Oh great. I will. Thank you! I made another pair last night and still have too much fabric in the front …. grrrr.

    • I know what you mean. I am blocked by this trousers as well… I am not able to make anything else … untill this pants are ready. SUCCESS!

  3. sarah liz says:

    Hi Beata – pants are the worst to learn to fit – I’m still getting there. Glad you have lots of stash to use up in this quest – and thanks for the info on the Palmer Pletsch book – I have been wondering whether to get it🙂 Pants fitting has certainly been a frustrating exercise for you, so I’m glad you are nearly through to the other side🙂

    • Thanks a lot Sarah Liz, I am now back home and no other business trips so in the end more time to sew and write. I hope I will finish the post on our blog🙂 in the end.
      I was reluctant in buying another sewing book but this one helped me a lot. Now I have to sew these 5 pants🙂

    • sarah liz says:

      Good luck with them Beata, and post when you are ready – if you travel for business that eats into sewing time no end, so no rush🙂

    • 🙂 Seeing all creationsfrom all participants motivate me so much that I canont wait to sit at the sewing machine again. The only dilema I have is my sewing machine not working so good. So either good service or new machine… But first I have to fight the cald I have got… another surpise from my dear husband🙂

    • Sarah Liz says:

      I’m sorry you have caught a cold, and bad luck also about the machine – I hope both get better at the same time so you can get going again🙂

    • Step by step🙂 I am trying to get back to my schedule – 2 hour sewing after work. Fortunately the weather is working with me – it’s gray and raining. Unfortunately I will have to leave for the holidays… I have to think about small sewing machine and/or hand sewing … 🙂

  4. black label says:

    i admire your determination in getting the pants to fit perfectly! I can honestly say I would have lost interest by now🙂

Comments are closed.