BVK evening workshop

One of the first sewing blogs I followed was THE SEWING DIVAS sewing, design, fashion. It was run by few bloggers and one of them was Els – member of Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools) – “It is an organisation which focuses on the interests of clothing manufacturers, tailors and directors of fashion design schools. It also provides consumer information. Among its members the BvK has, self-employed, men and women’s [tailored] clothing manufacturers, couturiers, tailors employed by couturiers, designers and manufacturers of costumes for the stage as well as those who own a clothing repair shop and various other fashion studios. Members also include a large number of fashion design schools.

I knew they organise all kind of interesting challenges, events and regional meetings where they share knowledge on tailoring.
I was often checking the agenda with these regional meetings as I was interested in joining such meeting. However very often it was at the same time when I had to leave for my work. This time I had luck! I contacted the regional coordinator  -Marijke and I was glad to hear I could join it even though I am not a member.

The topic of this meeting was – draping a collar by Anneke Smeets.
After short introduction round Anneke started to drape a collar of a jacket.

Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)

 

 

Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)

Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)

The third collar was more complicated. Anneke shared her experience with a client who wanted to have a blouse with such collar for a wedding.

Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)Branchevereniging van Kleermakers & Modevakscholen – BVK (Dutch Association of Tailor and Fashion Design Schools)

It was very nice evening. I have met a lot of interesting people – professional tailors who have their own atelier as well teachers from the regional schools.

I am sure I will join the next meeting and probably the association as well.

Red Point Tailor

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in Something completely different and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BVK evening workshop

  1. Anthea says:

    I didn’t know such meetings were organized. Very interesting, might see if there’s something in my region.

Comments are closed.