Short update on pants fitting

It was good to have a short break from my pants and fitting issues.

I have completely forgotten about the Burda Sew Along so now I have to hurry up with my man jacket project. I will trace pattern tomorrow and start to make a muslin.

Meanwhile while having a stained glass workshop I came across a small treasury.

new attemt - pants fitting isseus follow up


Long ago my sewing friend had made for me a pants – good fitting pants. They were so good that one day (few years later) I decided to make copy of them. I ripped all seams and trace the front and back.

I think I even have made once a trousers based on this pattern – but I don’t remember what has happened with them.

Anyway – I took this pattern and put it on the one I have made recently and here it is – new pattern. I am very curious how this one will fit.

But first – a jacket for my DH.

Red Point Tailor

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Short update on pants fitting

  1. AgnieszkaD says:

    Też robię z gazet wykroje:) Pozdrawiam.

    • To bylo juz dawno zanim odkrylam w Holandii wszystkie sklepy z krawieckimi codenkami. Teraz zazwyczaj uzywam papieru do wykroii – polprzezroczysty. Czasami trudno jest zonaczyc narysowane linie na tych zadrukowanych gazetach. Ale do konstrukcji przestrzennej napewno sie nadaja🙂

  2. I’m trying to make a pair of 40’s pants. We’ve been on a break for a few weeks but I’m thinking we might make up next week and give it another go! Good luck!

    • Success! I am very curious! 40’s pants is sometingn I would like to make one day…
      I took short break from my fitting – it is addictive. I am almost there and I have to say the book Pants for real people has help a lot.

  3. sarah liz says:

    Hi Beata – pants are the worst – I know what you mean about “back to the beginning”. Sad that you lost the good pattern – always the way.

    Just a reminder the 2013 Style The Stash Sew A Long starts June 1 – could you send me an email please to so that I can add you as a contributor/author. The grab button is ready on the site as well.

  4. VeraVenus says:

    Hope the trouser pattern works! A good one is worth its weight in gold🙂

    • Well, every time I make a tiny adjustmnet I am back to the beginning… the worst is I start to like this fitting soap. The dengerous is I start to dream about it. I am getting there, however I have to take a small break first.

  5. grtescp says:

    fingers crossed! And good luck with the burda jacket – my second burda sew hasn’t been going as smoothly as planned, a few seams to be ripped and steps to be repeated!

Comments are closed.