Pants Fitting Soap

I don’t dream about fitting the pants yet, but I am close to madness.
I have re-traced pattern and put all changes from my last fitting and I am going to make next pants tomorrow. Unfortunately last alterations I have made have changed the structure of the patterns so I will not be able to re-use my previous pants.

I hope I still can find some stretch fabric in my stash.

Meanwhile the Me-Made-May 2013 has started – it is amazing how many people joined this ‘madness’ Knipogende emoticon . I am trying to view all posted photos on Flicker MMM 13 group –there are so many! I thing is sure – everyone has fun!

I have joined as well the Burda Magazine Sew Along … The idea is to sew something from forgotten Burda. I have some of them as well as patterns. I am planning to make a jacket for my Mr DH.

The pants soap will continue tomorrow…

Red Point Tailor

Follow me on Bloglovin

17 thoughts on “Pants Fitting Soap

  1. I admire your determination. Good luck with your pants. Just keep thinking how great it will be when they fit you perfectly!

    1. Thanks – o how I need such support now! This is one of the thoughts which keeps me going on. However I have to set up a limit of acceptance …I think the time has come to buy the book – Pants fitting for real people 🙂

  2. I’ve almost decided what changes to make to my pants and I know I’m going to be a-dreaming of low butt adjustments and crotch curves. Cripes that sounds dodgy doesn’t it – the joys of sewing trou hey?

    I’ve run out of muslin fabric so I’m going to have to use my stretch denim with Very Wide Seam Allowances! Sigh. 🙂

    1. I run out of muslin fabric as well, but I don’t dear to make the pants from real fabric – not yet. I will rip one of the tryouts out and I hope I will be able to make new musling from it. Fingers cross 🙂

    2. I did one other muslin but the crotch point moved so far forward it was silly! And the horizontal whiskers remained. Can’t re-use the fabric either as I didn’t leave enough seam allowance. Damn it

    3. I really exhausted by this pants :-\ I am a little sick and I have not enough energy to follow up. I have been watching this Craftly onlina course… well, nothing new and not so helpful. I will write short note on the blog later this week.
      My latest muslin has still wrinkles at the front and back – I am out of ideas… I am checking Pinterest for some picktures/tips. Maybe this one will be somhow helpful for you http://www.sawyerbrook.com/salon/khaki-shorts-f54/sewing-topic-355.html. And I wanted to have new pants this weekend… hrrrr. I will have to buy more muslin fabric as well.

  3. wow, I bet you will soon be dreaming of pants!
    I am going to trace out my burda patterns today – I am making 2 tops, nothing too ambitious, but they are something I will wear (hopefully before the end of the month during MMM)

    1. Yes, I am taking part in the Burda sew-along – I spotted these patterns when I bought the magazine last year, but have never gotten round to making them – too many ideas, too many projects! The sew-along seemed like the perfect incentive to change that 🙂

    2. Yes, I am taking part in the Burda sew-along – I spotted these patterns when I bought the magazine last year, but have never gotten round to making them – too many ideas, too many projects! The sew-along seemed like the perfect incentive to change that 🙂

    3. Since I have opportunity to by Vogue (Butterick and McCall’s) patterns I stop using Burda patterns. Besides Burda patterns in the Dutch version are made for a women 172 cm high. This means I need to shorten everything, which very often cause garment deformation. I have however few men’s patterns and it is just a great opportunity to make this jacket for my husbend. Busy month – May 🙂

    4. I don’t often buy Burda as I find the patterns are the same over and over, and also very dress focused, but last autumn I needed a few patterns for friends I was teaching to sew, so I picked up a couple of Burdas – before I found some Japanese patterns that were much nicer and much easier, so I never used the Burdas

    5. No, no Burda for me as well anymore….It was good about 20+ years ago when there was nothing else in PL.
      I have see bloggers mentioneing/sewing from the Japanese patterns – could you send me a link to a website so I could look at it. I would like to give it a try 🙂

    6. I have 2 sources of Japanese patterns – number 2 and 3 of the “dossiers couture” magazines (http://www.journaux.fr/dossiers-couture_couture-patchwork-point-de-croix_loisirs-creatifs_163730.html) – my mandarin collar t-sirts, a cowl jumper and winter trousers came from these.
      The other source is this book: http://www.patronsdecouture.com/livre-vetements-faciles-en-lin-et-en-coton.htm – my cargo pants come from here and there are a couple of shirts I want to make too. This site has a bunch of other books too.
      These are all in French, I know quite a few books are available in English (for example from Amazon – http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_12/277-2230463-9370600?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=japanese%20sewing%20patterns&sprefix=japanese+sew%2Caps%2C291) and http://youandmie.com/ recently did a series on her blog explaining how to sew from patterns in Japanese – they were mainly sewing kid’s clothes, but the explanations are the same whomever you are sewing for!
      And another good thing about Japanese patterns – they are designed for people who are 1.60m tall!

Comments are closed.