Addictive Day-To-Night Drape Top pattern

I have finished my first top Day-To-Night Drape Top (pattern by MariaDenmark). It is exactly as Kim-ing said – simply, easy to make pattern, ready within few hours. And it looks good and suits great. I will take some photos to show you but first I will make another one Knipogende emoticon. Yes, yes, … addictive pattern.

Both tops are/will be made from stretch lycra jersey with great drape – wonderful for this type of design.

The one I have already finished is made of fabric with this colourful – art deco like – pattern…

Jersey lycra fabric top

The next one – already cut off the fabric – will be dark blue (in reality it is really nice dart blue colour).

Jersey lycra fabric top

I still have two jersey fabrics which are a little thicker. I am thinking of making a top with the same neckline however I would like to have long sleeves.

Jersey lycra fabric top Jersey lycra fabric top

So… I have checked patterns I have … hmmm…. I started to draw the patterns, modify patterns – I have no patience anymore. In the end I have checked Vogue patterns website. They have sale and I was wondering if there is something interesting.

And of course I have found – even more then I needed…

V8390 Vogue pattern Jersey lycra fabric top V9771 Vogue pattern Jersey lycra fabric top

V8649 Vogue pattern Jersey lycra fabric top

I have picked up three patterns with different front and collar finishing. They all can be made with short sleeves or sleeveless.

I think I will be able to pick up something for these two fabrics.

I will probably make two different tops – and check patterns at the same time.




Now back to my skirt where I still have to attach lining and make hem.

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Addictive Day-To-Night Drape Top pattern

  1. I’ve been wanting to try her top. Heard such great reviews and it always looks great. Can’t wait to see your version.

    • Just do it – I am glad Kim-ing convinced me – you will not regret it. I will post photos soon… it is nice sunny day for taking photos – only still too cold for taking photos outside🙂

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    I love the day to night top. In fact I’m wearing the dress I created out of it right now! If you have Maria’s tshirt pattern those sleeves fit the day to night top!

    • Well… I have enough patterns which probably have a sleeve I could use, I could draft a sleeve myself but— I am too tired (lazy) to do this seeing so many patterns around I could use. So probably I will buy the tshirt pattern in the end😉 – thanks for the tip!

    • sewbusylizzy says:

      I agree! I sometimes think I should draft bits and pieces but my pattern collection is ahhhh quite extensive so why bother!

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Very nice! Can’t wait to see it when it’s done. Love your fabric choices!

Comments are closed.