Next project – Butterick 5424

I have finished with the LBD for the PR sewing contests. Sometimes it is good to have this deadline … this time however I had a very busy November month and I was very tired at the end.

B5424As the winter is coming… slowly but definitely, I am staring on a new project – Jacket based on Butterick 5424 Misses’ Reversible Jacket.


I decided to go with a view A – loose-fitting jackets with contrast reverse side, shawl collar and dropped shoulders; stitched waistline tucks, front loop and button closure.

I have adjusted the pattern to my figure – as always I had to shorten the sleeves. I will not make it as reversible. I was checking the Pattern Review website to see some examples and check for issues. I found it very helpful!


I have in my fabric stash black fabric – wool with cashmere. It will be very suitable for this. I have bought the rest of the fabric and I have it in 2 pieces – and I have to watch out as the cut line of the fabric is not strait.

Next project - Butterick 5424

I have put the pattern on the fabric and I have notices that I have just enough – Maybe I will even need to shorten a little the pattern. It looks only like I still could move the front pattern a little down – unfortunately not.

Next project - Butterick 5424

For the upper collar I will use this very small piece of a fabric I have bought 1 year ago (it is already 1 year? Time flies!) in Linz (Austria).  It has a silver grey colour ….

Next project - Butterick 5424

I hope I will still have enough to make caffs for the sleeves … it would be nice.


The patterns are pinned to the fabric and tomorrow I will cut it. Then lining – maybe I will use lining with warm underlining.

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.