Back to basics

Everything started with fitting issues. As most of us I have to always adjust a pattern before I start cutting a fabric. It is difficult to check the pattern tissue on myself so I decided to make a basic bodice block and a skirt block.

I used book ‘Metric pattern cutting for women’s wear’ by Winifred Aldrich. It is excellent book with clear instructions.

Metric pattern cutting for women’s wear’ by Winifred Aldrichbasic top block frontbasic skirt block front

I had to asked my husband to help me with some measurements but after few hours I managed to draw the blocks on paper. For the bodice block I moved the dart on the side.

basic top block frontbasic skirt block front

After making blocks on paper I have made muslins for the bodice and skirt. They fit perfectly.

basic top block frontbasic top block frontbasic skirt block front

So now, having my basic patterns I can easier check if the waist and or bust lines are correct, do I need to make it shorter or longer – hmmm – or wider.

About Red Point Tailor

My name is Beata - I am manager, mentor, coach, personal stylist, couturier and jewelry designer. I founded Red Point Tailor with the vision to use my creative abilities, experience and knowledge to inspire, motivate, educate and empower you in finding your own sense of freedom and a fulfilled life. Under the label Red Point Tailor I design and create unique and elegant jewellery inspired by the simplicity of the Art Deco period. My goal is to make women feel elegant, smart, feminine… and utterly fabulous! Haute Couture is my passion. In my free time I read books, make own garments or sail together with my husband.
This entry was posted in RPT Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.