Easy week-end project and finishing Vogue 1023

I have started weekend with making a new cover for my dress forms.
It was not a rocket science – so good project to warm up.

I have taken out the old cover made of a knitted lycra-like fabric and traces the shape on a paper.

making a new cover for a dress form

I had in my stash a piece of a knitted cotton bland which was just enough for the cover. I decided to make the new cover a little longer. It was very simple project. The next cover will be from canvas – good exercise in patternmaking.

making a new cover for a dress form

After the cover was done I started to finishing vintage Vogue Jacket V1023.
It is taking much longer then I expected.

Vvintage Vogue Jacket V1023 - Red Point Tailor Couture

What left now it to hand stitch the lining to the fashion fabric. I should manage to do this today evening. I should not forget to open and finish the button holes on the WS.

While hand stitching I am watching Patternmaking Basics: The Bodice Sloper bu Suzy Furrer on On Craftsy platform

Patternmaking Basics: The Bodice Sloper bu Suzy Furrer on On Craftsy platform
Patternmaking Basics: The Bodice Sloper
 – from: Craftsy.com

I will write more about it later.

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

ModCloth Instagram Challenge.

Craftsy Sales

9.95 sub price

About Red Point Tailor

I am sewing enthusiast - houte couture is my passion. I am sharing here information on my couture projects, couture techniques, my challenges - up's and down's, my jewellery projects, fashion. My couture garments, jewellery and fashion accessories are inspired by Art Deco, 30's, 50’s.
This entry was posted in AFFILIATES, Craftsy, My Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Easy week-end project and finishing Vogue 1023

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Looking forward to seeing your jacket! That Craftsy class also looks really good!

  2. sewdooley says:

    I’m about to start the same Craftsy class, doing the skirt too.

    • After being almost half way with bodice I am thinking of buying the skirt as well… I was studying patterdrafting, I have lot of books on patternmaking…. but I like the way Suzy is explaining the topic.
      Enjoy!

  3. I like that dressform cover

  4. ThreadTime says:

    I’m also enjoying the body sloper class. Now to find someone to help with the measurements. Wish you lived closer. ;-D

  5. Tia Dia says:

    I cannot thank you enough for sharing all the construction photos of this coat. I’ve made several coats over the years, but every time I start a new one, I get hung up on the method of inner construction that I want to use for that particular project. Your photos are very clear, and are a great teaching tool. Thank you!

  6. I’ll be interested to know what you think about the bodice sloper class. I need to make one, but I know I can’t do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

