Vogue 1023 time to work on sleeves

The bound buttonholes are ready, the singlewelt pockets are installed – it is time to set in the sleeves in my new vintage Vogue Jacket V1023.

This jacket has kimono sleeves with underarm inserts. To make sewing in the sleeve inserts easier it is advised to sew patches to the underarm seams.

Vintage jacket Vogue 1023 working on sleeves Red Point Tailor Couture

I have machine stitched following the seam line on the corner.

DSC_0037

Then I cut through all layers to the point.
The extensions from the patches make sure you will have a grip when attaching the inserts.

Before you sew the inserts you have to first sew the side seams joining front and back.

Vintage jacket Vogue 1023 working on sleeves Red Point Tailor Couture

First I have pinned the inserts matching all notches and then based it in place. You may see on the below picture how helpful the patches are. It would be very difficult to catch this small edge of a fashion fabric.

Vintage jacket Vogue 1023 working on sleeves Red Point Tailor Couture

After careful stitching both sleeves I could join the upper seams – arm and sleeves.

Vintage jacket Vogue 1023 working on sleeves Red Point Tailor Couture

The jacket start to take a shape. Next on the list: a collar and cuffs.

Vintage jacket Vogue 1023 working on sleeves Red Point Tailor Couture

By Red Point Tailor

Follow on Bloglovin Follow Me on Pinterest

ModCloth Instagram Challenge.

Craftsy Sales

9.95 sub price

About Red Point Tailor

I am sewing enthusiast - houte couture is my passion. I am sharing here information on my couture projects, couture techniques, my challenges - up's and down's, my jewellery projects, fashion. My couture garments, jewellery and fashion accessories are inspired by Art Deco, 30's, 50’s.
This entry was posted in How to - step by step, My Sewing Projects, Sewing techinques and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Vogue 1023 time to work on sleeves

  1. I made it!! says:

    Beautiful work! I love reading about your projects!

  2. Very good information. Good instruction.

  3. ThreadTime says:

    Have you found this jacket to be more fitted than it appears on the pattern?? I would really love it to have an A-line shape when I make this one.

    • True – on the drawings it looks wider, however meantime Vogue put pictures of ready made jacket so I knew it is more fitted. I was as well reading reviews on PatterReview.
      I like it as it is – I only make slveeves longer.
      I was thinking of making the jacket longer and make coat out of it.
      I thnik you can easy change it to an A-line shape coat/jacket.

  4. poldapop says:

    It’s looking good! I made a wiggle dress with underarm inserts last January – I was glad that I took the time to practice with a muslin before I did the real thing!

  5. KasiaB says:

    Podziwiam i chylę czoła :) perfekcja 200% Kolor i krój kurteczki bardzo mnie się podobają , już nie mogę doczekać się finału!
    Ja ostatnio szyję płaszcz ale nie wiem kiedy go ukończę , jak będę szyła w takim tempie jak teraz to będzie gotowy na następną zimę :(

  6. I like the cut-in sleeves with the insert. I made a similar style jacket, but the insert was square at the top and not pointed, so it was very difficult to attach. I like this design better.

Leave a Reply

