LBD–PR Sewing Contest …

LBD_Burda7174_detail_frontI have finished the LBD based on Burda pattern 7174 for LBD Pattern Review Sewing Contest.

I have taken some photos – well it was late and dark so I am not so pleased with them but there is no more time. The contest is finishing today so I have to hurry up. The only thing left is to update PR website.

Pattern Description:
B7174 Burda Style Dress – Dress with cup-shaped collar, overlapping front pieces and high-attached skirt with a kick pleat.

Pattern Sizing:
36 – 44 (10-18); I have made size 10.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
The top yes; as I have changed the hem of the skirt it is not fully the same dress.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Instruction is easy to follow. As I have lined the dress I had to follow my own way of sewing.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the retro-look, front of the dress. I had to adjust the patter to my figure.
I have removed the pleated hem of the dress and make it strait with kick pleat at the back.

Fabric Used:
Black Viscose with small addition of black satin for front belt and kick pleat at the back.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I have adjusted the pattern to my size and figure. I removed the pleated hem of the skirt and make it strait. I have made this dress fully lined.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would dew it again as I like the shape. I like specially the top part and probably I will make as louse/top based on it.
As I have so many other patters of dresses probably this one will need to wait – unless a customer would like to have it.

Conclusion:
It is definitely great wardrobe builder and essential. It is easy to be wear as daily dress (with a jacket or alone) as well as an eventing dress – in my case the satin finishing is making it easier.

LBD_Burda7174_frontLBD_Burda7174_backLBD_Burda7174_workLBD_Burda7174_eveningLBD_Burda7174_eveningLBD_Burda7174_detailLBD_Burda7174_detail

And now next project. As it is getting colder it is a high time to start working on my jacket. I will be based on pattern Butterick 5424.

About Red Point Tailor

I am couturier, fashion and jewelry designer, personal stylit. In my atelier Red Point Tailor I create and sell clothes that have been tailored to your specific requirements and measurements. Red Point Tailor clothing, jewellery and fashion accessories are distinguished yet timeless and simple. Elegant and feminine design is meant to inspire women to be eternally beauty! Haute Couture is my passion. On my blog you may follow my couture projects to discover beauty of well tailored, perfect fitting garments which will make you feel comfortable and smart. My couture garments, jewellery and fashion accessories are inspired by Art Deco, 30's, 50’s.
This entry was posted in My Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to LBD–PR Sewing Contest …

  1. maminette says:

    Very very nice dress. I will try the skirt as you’ve done (sorry for my poor english, it’s not my first language !!!)… So pretty.. Is the pattern easy to adjust to your own body ???

    • Thank you! The patter for this dress is very easy to adjust – just give it a try :-) I am lately making not so many garments from Burda patterns so I had to find my way again.
      Please keep in mind that this is a vintage pattern and check the pattern measuremetns for your size good – specially finished measurements.
      SUCCESS!

  2. CherryPix says:

    What a stunning dress! I’m off to hunt this one down!! Good luck in the PR LBD competition!

  3. What a beautiful dress! And you look absolutely lovely in it! :)

  4. Pauline Droy says:

    this is a beautiful dress well done

  5. Definitely a beautiful dress! Makes me want to get started on mine! I really like it with out the pleated bottom.

  6. It turned out beautiful!

Leave a Reply

